16th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy from Sept 16

Our Correspondent
Kohima | September 3


The 16th edition of the NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy 2015 under the aegis of the Angami Students’ Union (ASU) will start from September 16 at Khuochiezie (Local Ground) Kohima.


To be held under the theme “Goal for Peace,” the tournament will go on till October 15.
This trophy is organized in honour and in remembrance of two comrades Lt. Kekuojalie Sachu of Kohima village and Lt. Vikhozo Yhoshii of Kigwema village, who were victims to the indiscriminate firings of the Armed Police from Alichen, when the students’ fraternity, on the 20th of March 1986, were on a peaceful duty call of the Naga Students Federation (NSF) to register Nagas resentment against the state government’s decision to the extension of Disturbed Area Belt from 5 KM to 20 KM along the Indo- Myanmar border and against the induction of Indian Police Service (IPS) cadres into the state of Nagaland.
In exercise to honour and keep alive the sacrifices made for the Nagas by the two martyrs and to be the living vanguard in protecting the cause of the younger generations the Angami Students’ Union, started the herculean task of organizing the martyrs’ memorial trophy. Starting off in the 80’s the “Lt. Kekuojalie & Lt. Vikhozo Memorial Trophy” was played annually, but participation was confined only to Angami students’ fraternity.
From 1992 onwards at the behest of the NSF and general public, and also to bestow the memorial trophy in a wider prospective, the Trophy was converted into an open football tournament with the nomenclature “Open NSF Martyrs’ Trophy” and the following teams were the winners. Tangkhul Students’ Union (TKS)- 1992, All Zeliangrong Students Union (AZSU)- 1993, 1994 & 1995.
The AZSU having won the trophy for three years consecutively, the trophy went into their possession. Thereafter, a new trophy for the tournament was procured by the ASU and the nomenclature for the same was changed into NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy with the theme “Goal for Peace.”
The following teams were the winners: 1998- Kohima Village Students’ Union, 2000- Naga Boys Club, 2002-Tangkhul Students Union (TKS), 2003- Naga Boys Club, 2004- Rongmei Youth Club Dimapur, 2005- Puliebadze Club Jotsoma, 2006- Naga Boys Club, 2007- Nagaland Police, 2008- Nagaland Police, 2009- Excel United Club, Kohima, 2010- Nagaland Police, 2011- Lamkang Students’ Union, 2012- Life Sports FC, 2013- Nagaland Police and 2014- Barak FC, Peren.
ASU is expecting around 60 teams in this 6th edition.
The tournament will be played on knock-out basis in all stages of the tournament.
Entry forms now available at ASU Office, Sports World & Zumvii Printex in Kohima and Kiran Sports in Dimapur. Last date for submission of form is September 11.