Only 2 districts with 100% Verified ODF villages in Nagaland

Only 2 districts with 100% Verified ODF villages in Nagaland
54.58% of total 1451 villages in the state have been declared ODF verified villages so far


Morung Express News
Dimapur | August 21


With only a year to go before the deadline expires to achieve full open defecation free (ODF) verified villages under the Centre’s flagship programme Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM), Nagaland is only halfway there.


As of August 19, 2018, only 792 villages or 54.58% of the total 1451 villages in Nagaland were declared as open defecation free (ODF) verified villages.


Under SBM, the Indian Government has set the target of October 2019 as the deadline to declare all the villages ODF verified.


So far, only 2 districts – Mokokchung and Zunheboto – have been verified as ODF districts, according to information on the Nagaland Chief Minister’s Dashboard launched in August 13.


While 79.81% or 1,158 out of 1651 villages have been declared as ODF, they are yet to be verified. Meanwhile, all the villages in Longleng, Dimapur, Kiphire and Phek have themselves declared ODF, but are yet to be verified.


Longleng and Kiphire districts have the potential to achieve the target first as they have only 1 and 4 villages to be verified out of 50 and 99 respectively as of August 19 (see table). The coverage in Tuensang and Mon is below 50%.
As per the SBM’s Dashboard, there are 1,158 ODF Villages and Gram Panchayats, 39 ODF Blocks and 6 ODF Districts in Nagaland.


Replying to a question on the process through which a village is declared ODF, the centre told the Lok Sabha in January, 2018 that the verification is done within 3 months of declaration as ODF.


“In the first step, villages themselves declare ODF in the general meeting. Within 3 months of ODF declaration, States/UTs conduct verification using different processes. ODF sustainability verification, which primarily focuses on toilet usage is also conducted after a period of 270 days,” PTI reported quoting the Minister of State for Drinking Water and Sanitation, Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi.