Administration in Nagaland: Who looks after what?

Commissioner Nagaland & Home Commissioner

The District Administration is headed at the Directorate level by the Commissioner Nagaland while the Administrative head is the Home Commissioner at the Secretariat, presently held by an officer in the rank of Addl. Chief Secretary. The office of the Commissioner Nagaland is responsible for the implementation of the policies of the Government through its Deputy Commissioners in the districts, but all policy decisions are taken at the Secretariat level, by the Home Department.


At the Secretariat level, the Addl. Chief Secretary (Home) is assisted by a host of officers in the ranks of Secretary, Addl. Secretary, Joint Secretary, Deputy Secretary and Under Secretaries. Below this are the Secretariat staff from the rank of a Superintendent to that of an LDA cum Computer Assistant and other grad IV staff.


The General Administration Branch (GAB) is responsible for looking after all administrative and financial sanctions for the District Administration.


Powers & Duties 
Commissioner Nagaland:  The Commissioner Nagaland is the overall head of the district administration. Under her/him are the Deputy Commissioners (DCs) of the districts, who act on behalf of the Commissioner Nagaland in their respective districts. The Office of the Commissioner Nagaland is the controlling office for district administration, where all matters relating to finance, appointments, village recognition, relief and rehabilitation, establishment matters, etc., in regard to the district administration have to be routed through before consideration by the Government.


Other than those areas where local purchases are necessary, in respect of items such as Vehicles, Red Blankets, Furniture, etc, procurement is done centrally by this office and then distributed to various administrative headquarters as per requirement. Budget sub-allocation is also carried out by the office of the Commissioner Nagaland for the DDOs under district administration. To assist the Commissioner Nagaland in the discharge of his duties in the office, there are officers one each in the rank of Additional Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner, Addl. Deputy Commissioner ADC), Extra Assistant Commissioner (EAC), Accounts Officer and a host of Ministerial staff from that of LDA to that of a Registrar, together with a number of group D category of employees such as Sweepers and Chowkidars.


Deputy Commissioner: The DCs head the district administration at the district level and report directly to the Commissioner Nagaland. All other administrative officers come under their respective them. They also head the district in all spheres. The duties assigned to a DC are mainly to maintain law & order in the district, ensure that all development projects in the district are as per the guidelines laid down by the Government/implementing agencies, ensure smooth coordination between various departments including Police and Security Forces such Assam Rifles, BSF, CRPF etc in the district, etc. They head a number of various committees and bodies, some of which are District Rural Development Agency (Under RD), District Mission Authority (DMA under SSA), District Level National Rural Health Mission, District Sports Council, Vice Chairman of District Planning and Development Board, etc. Under the Financial and Cognate Rules 1964, DCS are empowered to appoint to various posts under their jurisdictions at the Grade-III and Grade-IV levels.


The DC is charged with the Powers of Executive Head of the District Administration. Daily controlling of Law & Order situation in close Co-ordination with Police & Paramilitary Forces for maintenance and Prevalence of Peace and Tranquility in the District; Controlling and Supervising daily functions of the Village Councils, VDB Municipal’s and Town Councils in the District. In Co-ordination with the Heads of Development Departments for execution of various Schemes/Projects in the District.


The DC is the Chairman of District Security Co-ordination Committee/District Collector/District Magistrate. S/he is also the Session Judge in matters of Criminals case where he can award Death Penalty to Culprits. As per Police Manual the DC is the Head of Police Administration in the District.


Additional Deputy Commissioner of a Sub-division: The ADC of a sub-division is the overall authority of the sub-division in administrative matters. Depending on the size and structure of the sub-division, there may be one or more SDO (C) sub-divisions and/or one or more EAC Circles under the ADC headed by SDO (C) or EAC as the case maybe. Powers and duties are similar, though on a smaller scale, like that of a DC of a district.


Sub-Divisional Officers of a Sub-division:In short known as SDO (Civil), these posts are usually manned by officers of Civil Services at the level of Higher Junior Grade officers of the NCS or Junior Grade officers of the IAS, i.e., in the rank of an Under Secretary at the Civil Secretariat. SDO (C) are responsible for maintaining law and order in their sub-divisions, ensuring that developmental activities are implemented as per the guidelines, coordinate security related activities and also between the activities of various departments in the sub-division, etc. Their duties and responsibilities are similar to that of the EACs, except that they look after a sub-division.


Extra Assistant Commissioner of a Circle (EAC):The powers of duties of an EAC can be easily understood from some important charter of duties, Law & Order monitoring and reporting listed below.


• Settlement of village land disputes; Trail of cases; Village Council elections; Disaster Management; and Verification & Certification for new village recognition.


• Verification & Certification of projects under  – LADP; Rural Development;  Job Cards under NREGA (National Rural Employment Guarantee, Act) programmes and issue certificates after verification of jobs/works; all Communalized programmes; the VDBs in their respective jurisdictions; and NEPED.


• Verification of Programme/Project implementation – Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA); National Rural Health Mission (NRHM)• Verification of PMRY and CM Corpus fund schemes.


•  Caretaker of Community Information Centers in their jurisdiction.


The district administration is also responsible for grant of permits for following categories:
Inner Line Permits (ILP): To non-local Indian citizen for entry into the state beyond the Inner Line. There are two categories under this permit, the first is for tourist and is valid for 15 days. The second is for working/business persons and is valid for 3 (three) months.


Special Inner Line Permit (Special ILP): To non-local Indian citizen Catholic Christian Missionaries for entry into the state beyond the Inner line. This permit is valid for 2 (two) years.


Gun License: At present Issuing of Gun Licenses is banned all over the state, though, this was earlier issued by the district administration.


Gaon Buras (GB) Corpus Fund: GBs are village elders authorized by the Government to act as assistant to DCs in village/colony administration.