Akuluto SDO (Civil) upgraded to ADC HQ

Akuluto SDO (Civil) upgraded to ADC HQ
CM TR Zeliang with other dignitaries and guest during the up-gradation programme of Akuluto SDO (Civil) HQ to ADC HQ held at Akuluto Town on January 13.


Zunheboto, January 13 (MExN): The up-gradation programme of Akuluto SDO (Civil) HQ to ADC HQ was held at Akuluto Town with Chief Minister, TR Zeliang gracing the occasion as chief guest on January 13.


After 43 years, the up-gradation to ADC HQ today marked the fulfillment of a long cherished dream of the people of Akuluto area in particular and Zunheboto District in general. Akuluto received its administrative status of SDO(C) in 1974 while VK was accorded status of EAC HQ in 1980, stated a press release issued by Media Cell, CMO Nagaland.


Potentiality of becoming an educational hub
Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister stated that the day was a ‘red letter day’ for the people of Akuluto and VK area. He believed that the region had potentiality of becoming an educational hub in the near future due to the presence of Nagaland University Campus at Lumami and its close proximity with Atoizu Polytechnic and educational institutions in Mokokchung.


‘Atoizu Polytechnic and Nagaland University Campus at Lumami have the potential to improve the educational condition of the Nagas’ he stated. Setting up of a Block Institute of Education and Training (BIET) Centre is also under progress located at Akuluto Constituency.


Priority to build
sustainable road
While terming the upcoming National Highways, NH-2 and NH-702(A), passing through Akuluto and connecting Mokokchung and Wokha, as a ‘great achievement,’ the Chief Minister called for public support, unity and solidarity in order to march forward with progress and development.


Highlighting major National Highways touching Zunheboto District, Zeliang said that work for Kohima-Wokha-VK-Mokokchung-Tuli-Amguri road measuring 240 kms named as NH-2 has started while sanction has been accorded for Mokokchung-Akuluto-Zunheboto-Phek-Meluri road measuring 226 kms and named NH-702 A.


“128 kms for Chakabama – Zunheboto road has already been sanctioned at an approximate cost of Rs. 1600 crores and survey work has already started and similarly, we have Pfutsero-Phek (66 kms – 825 Crores), Merangkong – Tamlu – Mon (100 kms – 1250 crores) and Changtonya – Longleng (35 kms – 437.5 Crores) which have been sanctioned,” the CM announced.


Also making references of other new roads under Akuluto and VK jurisdiction like Doyang-Izheto road under VK range and Sema Setsü-Dzulhami road under Akuluto jurisdiction, the Chief Minister said that building more sustainable roads would be a priority.


During the last 54 years since its Statehood, Nagaland received sanction of only Rs. 28,000 Crores from the GOI but during the last 4 years alone under the Chief Ministership of TR Zeliang, Nagaland has been accorded sanction of over Rs. 30,000 Crores.


On this line, Zeliang stated that the features of road connectivity in the State would completely change in the next 2-3 years and that the priority of the Government was on good roads, healthcare and electricity.


“Achievement of the Government during the last 4 years was more than the achievements during the last 54 years,” he added.


Timeline of Akuluto subdivision
Mention may be made here that, Akuluto Town was founded in the year 1917 with the establishment of Government Lower Primary School which was upgraded to Government Upper Primary School in the year 1934. In the year 1953, with joint efforts of Akuluto, and VK, Government Middle School was opened at Akuluto. Subsequently, in the year 1953, Akuluto was designated as an Administrative Circle – that included Akuluto Area and VK – headed by a Circle Officer. VK administrative unit was headed by Area Superintendents who assisted the Circle Officer at Akuluto. In 1968, administrative status of Akuluto was upgraded to that of EAC which was later upgraded to that of SDO (Civil) in 1974. VK was also subsequently upgraded to the status of EAC in 1980. Thus, Akuluto subdivision is one of the oldest administrative centres in the State.


Other dignitaries who spoke on the occasion included G. Kaito Aye, Minister for Road and Bridges; Khekaho Assumi, Parliamentary Secretary for YRS and MTF; Yehokhu Chophy, President of Akuluto area GB’s Association; Hotovi Chishi, Chairman of Akuluto Town GB’s Council and Vihoshe Murru, Vice President of Sumi Hoho.