Barak win third consecutive Classic Cup

Barak win third consecutive Classic Cup

Our Correspondent
Kohima | November 30


The formidable Barak Football Club today defeated Kuki United FC 2-1 to retain the Classic Cup and in the process, Barak has won the prestigious Cup for the third consecutive time.


Organised by Classic Club Kohima, the tournament at the Kohima Local Ground was held on the theme “Dream courage to achieve”.


The defending champions were off to a good start and had the opportunity to take the lead early in the first half. But Kivi Zhimomi’s feeble attempt in the 13th minute was easily collected by custodian Michael Kuki.
From then on, a deadlock ensued until the 37th minute when a composed Kivi flicked the ball past the rival goalkeeper to make it 1-0.


Kivi came close to scoring again at the close of the first half, but his superbly taken free kick was thwarted by the diving goalkeeper who pushed the ball away for a corner.


In the second half, Kuki United in their bid to get the equalizer made some desperate attempts on goal, and one such attempt in the 54th minute almost bore fruit but Khaigin’s shot slightly went off mark.
In the 58th minute, Barak forwards Keneisedelie and Kivi combined well to send Rhitsho Mero clear off the defence and he had no problem converting it and making it 2-0.


Thereafter, despite the efforts, both sides were unable to make any significant impact on the game. However, in the three minutes of stoppage time, Kuki United skipper Ginkholen’s piercing shot zipped past Barak’s helpless goalkeeper and into the net to make it 2-1. But it was just too late for any comeback.
With the win, Barak FC walked away with Rs. 1.5 lakh along with trophy and citation while runner-up Kuki United was awarded Rs. 80,000 and citation.


Parliamentary Secretary for Youth Resources & Sports, Music Task Force and State Lotteries Khriehu Liezietsu gave away prizes to winners.


Individual awards
Player of the tournament: Elminhao of Kuki United FC
Best Defender: Ayiezo Mere of Head Hunters
Best Goalkeeper: Peisuidibe Zeliang of Barak FC
Higher Scorer: Rhitsho Mero of Barak FC with 8 goals
Best Midfielder: Keneisedelie of Barak FC
Most Promising Players: Khriekethozo Keretsü of Addax FC, Hekato Ayemi of MT Youth Club and Akuo-o Ciesotsu of Naga FC