Bye-election briefs

DC Kohima informs on MCC

Kohima, May 1 (DIPR): With the announcement of the bye-election to Nagaland parliamentary constituency by the Election Commission of India, the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer Kohima, Rajesh Soundararajan has informed all the concerned that the model code of conduct for the guidance of political parties and candidates has come into force with effect from April 26 and will be in force till the completion of the election process. The political parties, intending candidates, government departments, establishments and general public have been informed to take note of the same and adhere strictly to the model code of conduct and extend cooperation to the district election machinery to ensure peaceful conduct of the bye- election.


Govt employees directed to be in station with immediate effect

Tuensang, May 1 (DIPR): Consequent upon the announcement of the schedule for bye-election to the Nagaland parliamentary constituency by the ECI, Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer of Tuensang, L. Jamithung Lotha has issued a notification directing all the government employees of the district to be in station with immediate effect. All head of offices should ensure their presence and also their subordinate officers and staff in their respective place of posting, it said, adding permission for station leave on official duty shall be obtained from the DC with clear and specific details of such duty. Any government employee on leave of absence on medical ground shall be recalled for appearing in person before the medical board, the notification added. The DC cautioned that disciplinary action will be initiated against any errant officials as per Section 134 of the RP Act 1951.


Media persons interested to cover Lok Sabha bye-election informed

Kohima, May 1 (DIPR): Media persons who are interested to cover the Lok Sabha bye-election 2018 have been informed to apply for authority letters for entry into polling stations and counting centres separately. All request letters for issue of authority letter should be accompanied by two passport size photographs for each media and one copy of the photograph to be pasted in the control register as instructed by the Commission. Applications should reach office of the DIPR on or before May 4, 2018 for onward submission to the Chief Electoral Officer’s office.


Model Code of Conduct Committee formed in Mkg

Mokokchung, May 1 (MExN): A standing committee for operation of Model Code of Conduct for bye-election to Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland has been constituted at district level in Mokokchung. The Committee comprises of Sachin Jaiswal (IAS), Deputy Commissioner & Assistant Returning Officer, Mokokchung – Chairman; Representatives of all registered national State political parties – Members; Relo, Addl. Superintendent of Police – Member; Lanuakum, DPRO Mokokchung – Member; Alila Chang, Assistant Election Officer, Mokokchung – Member Secretary.


Noklak officials asked not to leave station

Noklak, May 1 (DIPR): The ADC of Noklak, Thsuvishie Phoji has asked the members of Noklak Sub-divisional Planning & Development Board (SDPDB) to submit the employees’ list for the upcoming parliamentary elections and instructed them not to leave station during election time without permission. He informed this in the monthly Noklak SDPDB meeting held at KTC Hall, Noklak on May 1. The ADC, who chaired the meeting, also expressed gratitude to the members for conducting fair and peaceful elections during the 13th State general assembly election. Bunnua Lama, SDEO Noklak was introduced as a new member to the house.