Committee formed to review Municipal Act


DIMAPUR, AUGUST 20 (MExN): The Nagaland State Cabinet today discussed matters related to Urban Local Bodies Election wherein a committee to review the Nagaland Municipal Act, 2002 was constituted with Temjen Toy, Additional Chief Secretary (Home) as Convenor and the following 5 Officers as Members, namely Sentiyanger Imchen, Commissioner Nagaland; M. Patton, Commissioner & Secretary of Municipal Affairs; Khanrinla, Secretary of Justice & Law; Dr. Toshi Mannen, Director of Municipal Affairs and the Commissioner of Taxes. The Committee will consult all Tribal Hohos and stakeholders for reviewing the Municipal Act and will submit its report within 3 months from the date of notification of its constitution, the CMO informed. A press note from the Nagaland Chief Minister’s Office informed that the meeting also decided to sanction an amount of Rs. 60 Lakhs for construction of a memorial monolith at Old Secretariat, Kohima as requested by Nagaland Tribes Action Committee (NTAC). The Cabinet further decided to ask the Judicial Inquiry Committee to expedite its inquiry and submit the report at the earliest.

Share this post..
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn