Cultural exchange programme concludes

Cultural exchange programme concludes
Prof. AK Singh, Vice-Chancellor in-charge, officials, and students during the closing ceremony of cultural exchange programme at I. Ihoshe Kinimi Hall, NU Lumami on May 1.


Zunheboto, May 2 (MExN): The six-day cultural exchange programme under the Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat programme held at I. Ihoshe Kinimi Hall, Nagaland University headquarters Lumami concluded with a closing ceremony on May 1.


Initiated by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, a team of 14 members from Dr. Harisingh Gour University Sagar, Madhya Pradesh was on visit to NU, Lumami.


Short speeches were delivered by Prof. T Lanusosang, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Medziphema campus), Prof. NS Jamir, Registrar I/c, and Chumseli Anar, President, Nagaland University Students’ Union (Lumami).


The programme witnessed Naga folk song, folk dance, and showcase of cultural attires of Nagaland performed jointly by the students of NU and Dr. Harisingh Gour University Sagar, informed a press release. While the audience was treated to a Kathak dance by a student of the visiting team, two other students shared their experiences of Nagaland.


In his address, the chief guest, Prof. AK Singh, Vice-Chancellor I/c said that despite differences, it is culture that binds us and builds the heart-to-heart connection. He exhorted the visiting students to become brand ambassadors and create a new image of Nagaland, while also acting as the link between Nagaland and Madhya Pradesh.


There was also an inspection of the cultural exhibition displaying Naga traditional household items and costumes. Neizhanuo Golmei, Asst. Professor, Department of Political Science shared picture presentation of the entire cultural exchange programme.


The press note mentioned that the entire cultural exchange programme was coordinated by the team comprising Dr. Baljit Singh Sekhon, DDS and Nodal Officer (Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat), Dr. Neizo Puro (Department of Botany), Dr. Tovishe Phucho (Department of Chemistry), Dr. Maibam Radharani (Department of Anthropology), and Neizhanuo Golmei (Department of Political Science).