Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Despite opposition, 84 more candidates file nomination

Despite opposition, 84 more candidates file nomination

•    Noklak decides to hold town council election
•    Kiphire to oppose until municipal act is reviewed
•    In Pfutsero, women ready to contest even from general seat


Morung Express News
Dimapur | January 5


The attempt to boycott the Urban Local Body elections and the filing of nomination papers by various apex Naga civil societies and tribal hohos with strong-arm tactics did not stop another 84 intending candidates to file their nomination papers on Thursday.


While the districts of Kohima, Tuensang and Kiphire continued to draw blank with nil turnout, other districts saw a surge of candidates coming in to file nominations under the roving eye of tribal bodies and organizations empowered to monitor the situation at the respective Administrative offices.


Three days since the date for filing of nomination across the 11 districts began, most of the candidates that filed nominations were from the NPF party. On Thursday, out of the 84 nominations, 53 were from NPF, 13 from BJP and 18 Independent. The State BJP began their innings from Wokha Town Council where they fielded 13 candidates.


Women were also not to be cowered by the intimidation- as 28 of them filed nominations from different municipal and town councils.


For Dimapur Municipal Council (DMC), which remained in the blank till Wednesday and with the Naga Council Dimapur invoking the “interest of the Nagas” against the filing of the nomination, on Thursday however, in a go, 29 candidates, majority from the NPF and including 10 women filed nomination.


While the Tuli sub-division showed nerve to stand up to the Ao Senden’s diktat of excommunication by filing 9 nominations including 3 women for the Tuli Town Council on January 4, the Ao Senden , has reportedly summoned the 9 candidates on January 6.  “The course of action will depend on the outcome of the meeting,” a post in the social media platform I Love Mokokchung read.


In Pfutsero, volunteers of the Chakhesang Youth Front boycotted the ADC office to prevent intending candidates to file nominations. According to sources, there are four women and 7 men candidates ready to contest for the 11 wards in the sub-division. “Besides the four reserved seats, there is another woman candidate ready to contest in the general category,” a source who did not wished to be named said.


In a significant move, the Senior Citizens of Noklak Town at an emergency meeting on Thursday resolved to hold the town council election as notified by the Nagaland State Government. “Our stand does in anyway not infringe Article 371A of the Indian Constitution,” a press note from the senior citizens read.


At the same time, not far away, at Kiphire, the USLP, Eastern Sumi Hoho Kiphire, Tikhir Tribal Council, GBs, NGO, ward members and USSC at a consultation meeting at Hopongkyu memorial hall unanimously decided not to go ahead with the election till the municipal act is reviewed. The members who attended the meeting then walked to the DC office to stop candidates from filing nomination.


The Congress, which is yet to field any candidate in any of the district, is in a “wait and watch” mode to observe the turn of events before starting to file nominations.


Meanwhile, a press statement from Dimapur District Congress Committee while extending full support to the call of the Naga Hoho, NGOs and civil societies in opposing the ULB election, however resolved that if the government proceeds with their decision, it will not remain a mute spectator but field candidates in their respective wards.


The municipal and town election councils which has still not filed any nominations include Mokokchung Town, Kohima Town, Medziphema, Chumukedima, Pfutsero, Mangkolemba, Tening, Pungro, Aboi, Noklak, Kiphire, Tuensang, Zunheboto, Mon, Longkhim, Tobu and Changtongya.


In total, since January 3 till date, a total of 155 candidates have filed nomination across the state which includes 40 women candidates.

Share this post..
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

Related Post



[yourchannel user="The Morung Express"]