Skip to main content

Dzieselatuo, Vekutho champs at 6th Naga Wrestlemania

Our Correspondent
Kohima | October 26

Dzieselatuo Keretsü of Kohima village won the heavyweight title and Vekutho Soho of Phek village became the lightweight champ of 3E (Elite, Entertainment, Enterprise) Nagaland’s Naga Wrestlemania (King of the Ring series) 2017 today. This year’s edition of the championship was organised as part of the Combat Sports Festival at the Kohima Local Ground.


The champions won cash prizes of Rs. 50,000 each, while the runners-up and semi finalists in both categories received Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 10,000 each, respectively.


Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu, President, Naga Peoples’ Front graced the inaugural function as the chief guest. Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu lauded the efforts of the organizers for not only preserving the traditional Naga style of wrestling but also improving the game by bringing in weight category. He expressed hope that such improvisation would help expand the horizon of the Naga wrestlers to participate in higher arenas.


Day-2 will feature the third series of junior wrestling championship and King of the Ring Championship scheduled to start from 9:30 am. The junior champion will win a cash award of Rs. 10,000 with Championship belt. Runner-up: Rs. 5000 and semi finalists: Rs. 2000 each.


The cash purse of the King of the Ring champion includes Rs. 1,20,000 plus the Championship belt. The runner-up will win Rs. 60,000 and the semi finalists Rs. 30,000 each.


Yoddha Fighting Championship will take place on Day-3 from 5:00pm. The combat sports festival also features indigenous food stalls, merchandise sale, photography, live music and live projection. MLA CL John will be guest of honour on October 28.


Heavy weight championship
1st-Dzieselatuo Keretsü (Kohima vill)
2nd- Menuosetuo Yiese (Kohima vill)

Losing semifinalists:
Pfusato Tetseo (Phuyoba vill)
Venuzo Dawhuo (Thenyizu vill)

Light weight championship
1st - Vekutho Soho (Phek village)
2nd - Vetazo Veswüh (Suthozu vill)

Losing semifinalists:
Mhiesilieto Kuotsu (Khonoma)
Seyiejalie Gwirie (Jotsoma)