Gaariwala to open 4th IISFF 2016

Imphal, February 20 (MExN): Gaariwala will open the 4th Imphal International Short Film Festival (IISFF) 2016 which will be held around the Second Week of March this year.


Gariwala, directed by Asharaf Shishir from Bangladesh, has already won 24 International Awards. “Telang-Gaa”, a Meeteilon film, directed by a young woman filmmaker, Babina Chabungbam, will close the film festival, a press release from the organisers of the film festival informed.


The organizers have also invited Short Filmmakers from the state to submit their works to be part of the festival. “IISFF encourages drama, documentary, and animation short films, while providing all filmmakers with the same exposure and benefits as their peers,” their release stated.


The organizers have so far selected 100 films for the 4th edition from around 200 film submissions. Out of this 100, 40 films will be selected for the screening, it informed. The officially selected 100 films will be part of the competition section and viewed by juries, nominated by the Hosting Company, Legend Studio and the organisers, ASA Manipur.


The theme for the two-day event is “Promoting the Unheard Voice”. “We are supporting an association based in Manipur who are working for the uplift of the Differently-abled persons, The Disabled Development Association Manipur (DDAM),” Festival Director Mohen Naorem was quoted as saying.


Naorem added that the 4th Edition of the festival is unique as many films dealing with social issues like Transgender, Problems of Girls in Haryana, Kashmir Conflict, Cultural Conflict etc. will be screened.


The festival since its inception has not screened Hindi films due to the ban imposed by some organizations in Manipur. However, continuing its tradition of promoting regional cinemas, the festival will have films made in Bangali, Tamil, Malayalam, Marathi, Kashmiri, Nepali, Meeteilon, Haryanvi and Telegu. Countries like UK, USA, Germany, Spain, Russia, Japan, China, Bangladesh etc. will also participate in the festival, it informed.


The festival will award the Best Short Film, Best Documentaries and Best Animations, Special Mentions along with the Best Director.