High voltage campaigns end in Mizoram

Newmai News Network


The high voltage poll campaigns of the lone Lok Sabha constituency of Mizoram and the assembly by-poll to Aizawl West-I seat came to an end on April 9 with political parties organizing closing functions and two-wheeler rallies. 

Mizoram Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Ashish Kundra said that since the election campaigns have ended any form of electioneering, public meetings, publication of advertisements, press conference by political parties, interviews and panel discussions in electronic or print media have been strictly prohibited after the deadline.

Mizoram will go to the polls on April 11 and results will be declared on May 23.

The voters will cast their votes at 1,175 polling stations across the state where EVMs would be used. Besides, the Election Commission has set up 15 special polling stations at Kanhmun village on Mizoram-Tripura border, where 12,081 Bru voters from six relief camps in Tripura would cast their votes. The Lok Sabha elections in Mizoram will be a six- cornered contest, while the Aizawl West-I assembly by-poll will witness a triangular contest.

For the Lok Sabha polls, the ruling MNF has fielded former Director General of Doordarshan, C. Lalrosanga and ZPM-Congress alliance has projected a sport journalist, Lalnghinglova Hmar. The BJP, which is contesting the Lok Sabha polls for the first time in Mizoram, has fielded Nirupam Chakma, while People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) has nominated former navy personnel, TBC Lalvenchhunga. The two independent candidates are Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani.