Imtikumzuk elected deputy speaker

Imtikumzuk elected deputy speaker

Kohima, July 21 (DIPR): Congress MLA Imtikumzuk was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of the 12th NLA on July 21 during the ninth session of the Assembly. Imtikumzuk was the lone nominee to the seat of Deputy Speaker. He was nominated by Deo Nukhu and seconded by Dr. Imtiwapang.


The Chief Minister of Nagaland TR Zeliang congratulated the newly elected Deputy Speaker and expressed expectations that he would play a neutral role and work for the smooth conduct of the house.


Meanwhile, Imtikumzuk thanked the house for electing him and sought the cooperation and support from the members of the house so he can discharge his duties.


The BJP MLAs led by Minister for Transport & Civil Aviation, IT&C, Paiwang Konyak abstained from voting by walking out of the house before the nomination to the chair of Deputy Speaker was read out by the Speaker.


Earlier, the house observed a two-minute silence to pay respect to former MP Rano Shaiza, former MLA Bangdi Iheilung, former MLA Dr. VC Kanito and former MLA K Yeshito.


The Chief Minister in his obituary reference to Rano Shaiza said that the State has lost its pioneer political woman. He noted that Rano Shaiza was the first and only Naga woman to be elected and represent the state as a Member of Parliament.