Skip to main content

2nd Hornbill Open Shooting C’ship

2nd Hornbill Open Shooting C’ship
The winners from various categories of the 2nd Hornbill Open Shooting Championship held in Dimapur from December 6 to 9.


DIMAPUR, DECEMBER 9 (MExN): The 2nd Hornbill Open Shooting Championship was held from December 6 to 9 at the Aries Sports Complex, Dimapur organised by the lNagaland Shooting Sports Association (NSSA) in collaboration with the Nagaland Tourism Department.

This year, four new events were introduced: 10 Metre Air Pistol and Rifle, 25 Metre Standard Pistol and Shotgun -Trap Shooting, all of which are Olympic sports.

Besides local participants, shooters from the neighbouring states of Manipur, Assam, Meghalaya and Uttarakhand competed for the Championship in the various events.

All together, 79 entries registered for the events.

The closing function cum award ceremony was graced by Anoop Khinchi, IAS Deputy Commission, Dimapur.

JI Yaden, Sr Vice President, NSSA chaired the function. The Competition report was presented by Merang Jamir, Sr Vice President and Competition Director. The prize ceremony was led by Israel G Xuivi, Secretary, NSSA.

The DC encouraged the participants to persist and mooted the possibility of the NSSA organising training camps creating avenues for enabling sports shooters to avail financial support since is not accessible to all. The program concluded with a vote of thanks by Neilasa Sopfii, General Secretary, NSSA.


Winners from various categories

10 M Air Pistol
1st     Ph. Rahul Sharma, Manipur
2nd    Sylvia Loukrakpam, Manipur
3rd     Nabajyoti Kalita, Assam


10M Air Rifle
1st     O. Labish Singh, Manipur
2nd    S. Rebecca, Meghalaya
3rd     Purchila Tzudir, Nagaland


25M Standard Pistol
1st     Shalo Khing, Nagaland
2nd    Leishangthem Tomba, Manipur
3rd     Israel G Xuivi, Nagaland


Shotgun Trap shooting
1st      Ritu Singh, Uttarakhand
2nd    Merang Jamir, Nagaland
3rd     Dr George Thira, Nagaland


Related Posts