Skip to main content

U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy


The Nagaland team which beat Meghalaya in the U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy.



Nagaland’s Keduowhetuo who was the pick of the bowlers and drove his team’s win.


Nagaland beat Meghalaya by 8 runs


DIMAPUR, NOVEMBER 8 (MExN): The Nagaland under 16 team defeated Meghalaya by 8 runs in their match at the Vijay Merchant Trophy 2019.


The match saw excellent performances by particularly two bowlers—Keduowhetuo from Nagaland and Nirdesh from Meghalaya.


Nagaland electing to bat first on day one were off to a shaky start as Meghalaya’s Nirdesh displayed a spectacular performance by single handedly bowling out the entire Nagaland team for 113 runs in 42 overs.


However, Nagaland managed to come back by restricting Meghalaya to 148 runs, bowling them out in 71.3 overs.


Keduowhetuo was the pick of the bowlers for Nagaland with 4 wickets, followed by Sravan and Rihan with two wickets each.


In the second innings, Nagaland managed to put up 111 runs in 53.2 overs, courtesy Savlin (31 runs), and Sravan (30 runs), who were the top scorers.


Meghalaya failed to reach the target as they were bowled out for just 68 runs in their second innings.


Keduowhetuo excelled again for Nagaland, as he took 6 wickets. Rohan with 3 wickets to his name was the second most successful bowler for the team.


With this win, Nagaland has won 3 matches, lost 1 and drawn 1 in the league stage to qualify for the all India knock out stage.


Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy


The Nagaland men’s senior cricket team lost to Saurashtra by 9 wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy today.


Saurashtra won the toss and elected to field first in a match which was reduced to 16 overs due to rain.


Nagaland scored 69, losing 6 wickets in 16 overs. Imliwati with 11 runs and Hokaito with 10 runs were the top scorers for the team.


For Saurashtra, Jaydev Unadkat with 2 wickets was their highest wicket taker.


Saurashtra reached the target scoring 73 runs losing only one wicket in 10.2 overs. Harvik with 22 runs and Kishan with 20 runs were their top scorers.  For Nagaland, S Mundhe was the sole wicket taker.


Nagaland will next play Sikkim in the tournament.


Related Posts