Skip to main content

Kenyan duo Kiptanui and Gatheru win 9th Hornbill Half Marathon 2019

Our Correspondent
Kohima | December 8

Kenya’s Moses Kiptanui Kibor won the Men’s 9th Hornbill Half Marathon 2019 on Sunday clocking 1 hour 10 minutes and 19 seconds, to cover the 21. 0975 KM. 

Philip Kiprotich Kiptoo, also from Kenya, completed the half marathon in 1:11:14 seconds to win the second place. 

Last year first runners-up, I Mosa Chang from Nagaland secured third position by clocking a timing of 1:11:14.

In the Women’s section, Kibor’s compatriot Hannah Wanjiru Gatheru took the title by covering the distance in 1 hour 25 minutes and 36 seconds. 

Shyamali Singh (West Bengal) and  Tsuchoi T. (Nagaland) were placed second and third respectively. 

3E Nagaland organized event as part of Hornbill Festival in association Nagaland Athletics Association.

Apart from the Half Marathon for men and women, there were 9.1 KM Great Hornbill Run for Boys and Girls of Class 8 & below and Special Lap for persons with special needs under the theme “Hornbill For All.”

In Half Marathon, the winner in both men and women category received a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, 2nd- Rs. 25,000, 3rd Rs. 15,000 and 4th- Rs. 10,000.

In Great Hornbill Run for both boys and girls, the winner received Rs.10, 000, 2nd – Rs. 7000, 3rd- Rs. 5000 and 4th – Rs. 3000.

In special lap event, all 70 participants received gift hampers given away by special guest Diethono Nakhro, State Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities.

She also took part in the lap and encouraged the participants that the special lap become bigger and better in the coming years while lauding the organisers for the initiative.


Hornbill Half Marathon (Men)
1st - Moses Kiptanui Kibor (Kenya) 1:10:19
2nd - Philip Kiprotich Kiptoo (Kenya) 1:11:14
3rd - I. Mosa Chang (Nagaland) 1:12:20
4th - Isaac Nduru (Kenya) 1:13:48
Best Naga runner outside top 3 - Hempao Khiam 1:14:00


Half Marathon (Women)
1st - Hannah Wanjiru Gatheru (Kenya) 1:25:36
2nd - Shyamali Singh (West Bengal) 1:32:10
3nd - Tsuchoi T. (Nagaland) 1:41:50
Best Naga runner outside top 3 - Peiheiteile Esalung (Nagaland) 1:42:06

Great Hornbill Run (Boys)
1st - Neilangulie Rutsa
2nd - Thejangulie Sote
3rd - Toshi Wongsa
4th - Nenshalo Jemu

Great Hornbill Run (Girls)
1st - Songmo Shiu
2nd - Flora Tsela
3rd - Thongkoi
4th - Vekhohülü


Related Posts