Manipur: Five former Congress legislators defect, join NEIDP

Newmai News Network

Imphal | March 21

In a big blow to the Congress party in Manipur, five former legislators of the party have quit the party and joined North-East India Development Party (NEIDP) on Thursday.

The defection in the Congress in Manipur came up barely a day after AICC chief Rahul Gandhi launched the party’s election campaign in the state for the two Lok Sabha constituencies.

Dr Ng Bijoy, RK Anand, K Sharatkumar, Dr I Ibohanbi Singh and E Chand Singh have defected the Congress party this afternoon. Interestingly, Ng Bijoy has been appointed as President of the Manipur unit of the NEIDP.

The five former Congress leaders were felicitated at a simple function held at the office of the NEIDP held at Tera Sapam Leikai, Imphal on Thursday evening.

During the function, NEIDP announced its candidates to be fielded in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. The party will field its candidates in both the Lok Sabha constituencies.

Dr Ng Bijoy announced that former MLA RK Anand Singh and Ashang Kasar will be the candidates of the NEIDP for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency and Outer Manipur Parliamentary (Reserved) constituency respectively.

Earlier, talking to reporters, Dr Bijoy alleged that national parties always ignored regional and state issues and state unit leaders always acted at the behest of the national leaders.

He and other four former MLAs left the Congress “not for their personal advantage but in the interest of the people of the state with the belief that only regional parties can sincerely deal with state’s issues”.

“Only regional parties can act in accordance with the wishes of the people”, he said while claiming that in almost all the states of the country, the popularity of the regional parties are increasing.