Nagaland bags 20 medals in national wrestling c’ship

Nagaland bags 20 medals in national wrestling c’ship
The medal winners along with NWA officials right after the completion of the championship at Shree Shiv Chatrapati Sports Complex, Pune, Maharastra.


NWA’s Musonyi Domeh elected VP of AITWPF


Kohima, May 5 (MExN): Nagaland won 20 medals at the 6th National Traditional Wrestling & Pankration Championship 2018 which was held in Pune, Maharastra from May 2 to 5.


Fourteen wrestlers under the aegis of Nagaland Wrestling Association (NWA) participated in the championship in Belt Wrestling and MAS Wrestling and won 15 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze medals.


Medallists in Belt Wrestling include: Gold – Menuosetuo Yiese, Vekutho Soho, Visedelhou Chüsi, Neiphretuo Zhünyü, Vehuto Nakro, Kusayi Tsütso, Bontang Phom, and Kevikhrietuo Chüsi; Silver – Kedalung.


Wrestlers who won medals in MAS Wrestling are: Gold – Menuosetuo Yiese, Kekhriekuolie Khawakhrie, Kevikhrietuo Chüsi, Kusayi Tsütso, Kedalung, Kudupoyi Nakro, Bontang Phom; Silver – Vehuto Nakro, Bisedelhou Chüsi; Bronze – Shezove Therie and Herachungdibo.


In a significant achievement, NWA wrestler Kusayi Tsütso was awarded Best Junior Athlete of the championship.


Meanwhile, incumbent Vice President, Musonyi Domeh was elected as the Vice President of All India Traditional Wrestling & Pankration Federation (AITWPF) on May 4 at Pune, Maharastra.