Nagaland gear up for April 11 polls; all nominations found valid

Nagaland gear up for April 11 polls; all nominations found valid

Students participate in an awareness campaign on Voter Helpline 1950 and the Poll Date 11 April 2019 at Local Ground, Mon Town on March 25. Around 500 students participated in this effort from different schools. (Photo Courtesy: @CEONagaland/Twitter)

Our Correspondent

Kohima | March 26

Nagaland’s Commissioner and Returning Officer (RO) for Nagaland Parliamentary Elections M. Patton today said that all the four nomination papers received for Lok Sabha polls found valid after proper examination of the documents and scrutiny was done today.

The four includes’ Tokheho Yepthomi (NDPP), K.L. Chishi (INC), Hayithung Tungoe (NPP) and Dr. M.M. Thromwa Konyak (Indian Christian Secular Party).

However, he said, in case of Dr. Thromwa who claims to represent ICSP has failed to produce the original sign copy of the Form A & B issued by the concerned parties.

He said that Form A relate to the document issued by party authorizing certain officials to issue Form B, which is authorizing nominating particular person to represent the party.

So as per Commission instruction, this document has to be in original. However, he said that Thromwa was failed to produce the original sign copy and rather he just produced email or fax copy.

“However since his nomination is found to be validly nominated by proposals and as per Election Commission guidelines, he is deem to be an Independent candidate. If he want to be continue with the race, he has to contest as Independent candidate,” Patton said.

Regarding bye-election to 26th Aonglenden A/C, CEO Nagaland said that scrutiny was done today by SDO (C) Mokokchung who is RO of that constituency.

He announced the list of four validly nominated candidates as Alemjongshi Longkumer (INC), Sharingain Longkumer (NDPP), Toshipokba Longkumer (NPF) and O. Tinujungshi Longkumer (NPP).

Meanwhile, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nagaland Abhijit Sinha IAS said that for the bye election as well as Lok Sabha polls the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 28 till 3:00 PM after that both the ROs will finalize the list of contesting candidates and allot the symbols.

He said that after 28 March, the list of candidates will be cleared and thereafter the ballot papers will be printed.

 12, 13, 777 voters for Lok Sabha, 12, 482 for bye election

Sinha today announced the final figure of electors for Lok Sabha elections in Nagaland now stands at 12, 13,777. Out of this, 6, 15,274 are males and 5, 98, 503 females.

The final figure of electors for 26th Aonglenden A/C by-election now stands at 12, 482. (6192 male and 6290 female).

The CEO said that there are 2227 polling stations in Nagaland for Lok Sabha polls while 16 polling stations for bye-election.

There are 255 all women polling teams for the general election to Lok Sabha and there will be one all differently-abled polling party in Wokha.

280 polling stations have been identified where live web casting will be done.   

 “We have sufficient EVMS and VVPATs to conduct the polls,” Sinha said and cited ballot unit of 3255, control unit- 3304 and VVPAT 3271.

 Security measures

Regarding security measures, Sinha said that the first batch of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) Company has already arrived in the state, comprising CRPF, SSB and BSF. Another batch of CAPF will be arriving to the state on March 30 or 31.

This time too, the service of home guards and village guards will be used to supplement the other forces.

He said that vulnerability mapping has been done where 450 polling stations are considered as critical and vulnerable.

In such locations, webcasting and videography will be done.

Sinha said that serious of precautionary measures have been taken by the district police and district administrations.

In the entire state, 605 persons have been bound down under preventive sections till date.

Since the announcement of the polls, six arms have also been seized by the police while 1879 arm licences have been deposited and still continuing.

Till now, police, flying squad, excise has seized 19,038. 949 litres of liquor. There has been seizure of cash also, amounting to about Rs. 69, 57, 470, he said.

He informed that the second phase of training of polling personnel will start from either March 28 or 29.