Neiphiu Rio wins vote of confidence in 13th NLA

Neiphiu Rio wins vote of confidence in 13th NLA
Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio casting his ballot during the election of the Speaker for the 13th NLA on March 13. (DIPR Photo)


Our Correspondent
Kohima | March 13


Nagaland’s Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who is heading the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) government, today won the vote of confidence in the first session of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly here.


He proved his majority on the floor of the House by obtaining 33 votes in his favour. Earlier, Nagaland’s Governor PB Acharya had requested Rio to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before March 16.


After Rio moved motion to prove majority that the PDA government headed by him has the majority in the House of the 13th NLA, voting was done by way of appending signatures by the elected members on the floor of the House in which Rio secured 33 while 26 voted as against from the side of opposition- Naga People’s Front (NPF).


The ruling PDA government has 34 MLAs in the 60-member house. Its partners NDPP have 18, BJP – 12, NPP – 2 and one each from JD (U) and Independent.


Earlier, all the elected members took oath before Pro-tem Speaker Mmhonlumo Kikon on the floor of the House.
The Assembly will have a long break from March 14 to 21. The session will resume on March 22
Meanwhile, Rio along with his cabinet ministers will be leaving Nagaland for Delhi on Wednesday.


Rio will be meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other union ministers in Delhi.


Er. Vikho-o Yhoshu elected NLA speaker
Meanwhile, Er. Vikho-o Yhoshu was elected as the new NLA Speaker at is first session here today.


People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) had nominated Er. Yhoshu of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) while the opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) fielded the former Speaker Dr. Imtiwapang Aier for election to the post of Speaker NLA.


The voting system of election was done through secret ballot in which Er. Yhoshu secured 33 votes of the 59 polled votes while Dr. Imtiwapang Aier got 26 votes.


Er. Yhoshu have been elected for three consecutive terms i.e. 2008, 2013 and 2018 from 14th Southern Angami- I Assembly Constituency.


The Speaker elect, Yhoshu in his speech assured the members assured the members to be fair, unbiased and judicious cutting aside party lines. He called on the members to shoulder the responsibility and confidence that people have reposed on them to shape their destiny. He appealed for cooperation to ensure effective discharge of their assigned duties. Thanking the members for the confidence reposed on him, he assured to give his best to live up to their expectation.


Later, Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio while congratulating Er. Yhoshu said “We are fortunate to have a refined and friendly gentleman with pleasant nature and strong integrity.”


“He has vast experience in government and public services, his guidance will be very valuable to all with his wide experience and knowledge, I urge upon all members cutting across party line to extend cooperation, this house will not leave any stone unturned to meet the expectation of the people of Nagaland and ensure cordial atmosphere of smooth functioning of this house,” the Chief Minister said.


Also congratulating Er Yhoshu, TR Zeliang, leader of NPF said the role of the speaker is to maintain absolute neutrality and impartiality, and uphold the dignity and decorum of the house.


He expressed confidence in the Speaker to live up to the expectation for members of the House.


In a democracy, majority prevails and therefore the Speaker should strictly ensure that laws and the procedures are not violated, he added. He assured full cooperation from the opposition as long impartiality in dispensing just decisions is maintained.