News in brief

CNTC 5th Anniversary today

Dimapur, December 7 (MExN): The Central Nagaland Tribes Council (CNTC) will be observing its 5th Anniversary at the Town Hall, Dimapur on December 8, 11:00 am. A press release from the council in this regard has informed all its units, concerned organisations and well-wishers to attend the programme. Former Chief Secretary Alemtemshi Jamir, IAS (Retd), K. Nzimongo Ngully, Retd. Secy, and H.K. Khulu IAS (Retd) will be exhorting the gathering, the release stated.


DNC stalls asked to collect permit

Dimapur, December 7 (MExN): The Organizing Committee of the Dimapur Night Carnival (DNC) has reminded all selected stalls to collect their stall permit from Akki Infra-Tech & Logistics, Hotel Trinity Building, Opposite Hotel Cedar, Near Police Commissioner office or call 03862-230962, between 10:00 am to 3:00 pm on December 7, 8 and 9.


NSCN (IM) Tatar Hoho winter session

Hebron, December 7 (MExN): The NSCN (IM) Tatar Hoho winter session will be held on December 12 at the CHQ Hebron. Hence, all the Collective Leadership Members, Executive Members and Members of the Steering Committee, Kilonsers, Deputy Kilonsers, Tatars, Heads of the Departments, Longvibu, Adjutant General, GSO-I & II, GAO, Unit Commanders, Brigadier and above, Region CAOs/EOs and two representatives each from the NSWON and NFFWWF have been requested to attend the session positively. “However, all the status shall refrain from attending the session,” stated a press release from MIP, NSCN (IM). All authorities concerned may submit agendas to the office of the Tatar Hoho Secretariat, if any, on or before December 9, it added.


NSCN (IM) condemns AR’s ‘fabricated charges’

Hebron, December 7 (MExN): The NSCN (IM) has condemned what it called “fabricated charges” leveled against two innocent civilians, namely Mohonong Tikhak and Ronong Tikhak from Mullong village of Changlang district, Arunachal Pradesh, as members of the NSCN (IM) by the Assam Rifles on December 1. “They are in no way associated with the NSCN after thorough investigation. Such malicious accusation is a desperate attempt of the Assam Rifles to malign the image of the NSCN and derail the peace negotiation between the NSCN and GOI at hand,” NSCN (IM) stated in a statement.


SASU condemns assault

Dimapur, December 7 (MExN): The Saptiqa Area Students’ Union (SASU) has condemned the physical assault on its member Dr. Angukato Achumi by a group of non-Nagas at Padumpukhuri, Dimapur recently. The union in a statement expressed shock at the incident “where the victim was not only physically assaulted but he was tied inhumanely with ill motive.” It further expressed grave concern that such incident of assault upon the Nagas has become a frequent event. The union urged the law enforcement agencies to book the remaining absconding accused and award befitting exemplary punishment. The statement issued by SASU president, Atopu Achumi further conveyed concern over the “influx of illegal immigrants”. It reminded the village councils and the government to “take cognizance of the issue of illegal immigrants and the danger it poses to our security as well as our economy and to ingest effective mechanism…”


IVR Village Council informs

Dimapur, December 7 (MExN): The Village Council of Industrial Village Razhuphe has requested all villagers as well as shopkeepers within the village to clean and decorate their homes/places in view of the forthcoming Christmas and New Year celebrations.


Control Cell for election grievances set up in Kma

Kohima, December 7 (DIPR): Deputy Commissioner, Kohima and District Election Officer, Rajesh Soundararajan, IAS, has informed that a District Control Cell have been set up at the Office of the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer, Kohima as under: Office In charge: EAC Revenue, Weku Zheime. Contact No: 8794983213. The DC also informed that any individual may contact the Cell at the aforementioned number for any issues relating to State Assembly Election. The Order has been issued in connection with the forth coming State Assembly Election, 2018.