NPF ‘in principle’ walks out of alliance with BJP in Manipur

NPF ‘in principle’ walks out of alliance with BJP in Manipur

NPF leader and former Chief Minister of Nagaland TR Zeliang . (Morung/NNN File Photo)

Party  leader TR Zeliang took to social media to inform about the party’s decision

Morung Express News

Dimapur | May 18

In a fresh political development, the Naga People’s Front  (NPF) has decided to walked out of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance in Manipur on May 18.

The NPF has four legislators in 60-member Manipur Assembly.

Taking to Twitter to inform about the party’s decision on Saturday, the NPF leader and former Chief Minister of Nagaland,  TR Zeliang stated: “After an intense deliberation and review meeting with the party functionaries and the NPF MLAs of Manipur State, the NPF party has decided in principle to pull out our 4 NPF MLAs from the BJP led Govt. in Manipur headed by N Biren Singh soon after the LS election is completed.”

“This decision at this juncture is necessitated due to the indifferent attitude of the BJP towards us, its coalition partner in Manipur and also in the State of Nagaland,” further posted Zeliang on his official Twitter handle.

“Further implementation of this decision will be finalised after the Election process,” it added.

The same message was posted on Zeliang’s Facebook page.

On May 17, the PTI news agency reported that , the NPF, a partner in the saffron party-led alliance in the state, has convened a meeting of its leaders on Saturday to decide if it would continue to stay in the coalition or withdraw support.

The NPF contended that the BJP does not pay heed to its ideas and suggestions, it said.

However, the report further informed that even if the party pulls out, it wouldn’t impact the BJP-led coalition, which currently has 29 legislators in the House.

Eight of the 28 Congress MLAs, who had won the 2017 polls, defected to the BJP last year, taking its tally from 21 to 29 in the Assembly. The other parties in the ruling coalition are NPP (4), LJP (1), Independent (1) and AITC (1).