NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy from Sept 24

NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy from Sept 24

66 teams register for 17th edition


Our Correspondent
Kohima | September 22


Altogether, 66 teams will compete in the 17th edition of the NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy 2016 (Late Kekuojalie Sachii & late Vikhozo Yhoshii) starting from Saturday, September 24 at the Kohima Local Ground under the theme “Goal for Peace.”


Out of the 66 teams, 49 teams are from Kohima, 6 from Dimapur, 3 from Peren, 4 from Phek and 4 from Manipur state. The month long tournament is organised by the Angami Students’ Union (ASU) and carries a total cash prize of Rs. 3,95,000. This was announced today by Convenor, Organizing Committee, Neinguvotuo Krose, in a press conference at KPC Conference Hall in the presence of ASU President Dievi Yano and other officials.  The tournament fixture was also released at the press conference.

Krose sought the support and cooperation from each and every individual towards the success of the tournament. He also called upon the public to put a collective effort to bring peace and friendship through this tournament.  The champions will be awarded Rs. 1,60,000 while the runners-up will win Rs. 1 lakh. The third and fourth prize carries Rs. 50,000 and Rs. 30,000 respectively. Losing quarter finalists will each get Rs. 10,000. The player of the tournament will receive a scooter while there are also other individual prizes for best goalkeeper, best defender, best midfielder, and highest scorer. Gallery tickets till the quarterfinals have been at fixed at Rs. 30; from semifinals to the final, tickets will cost Rs. 50.  The inaugural day on Saturday will witness a match between Meriema YO and Dejavu FC at 1:30 pm. The tournament will conclude on October 22.