RBI introduces `10 banknote’ in Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series

RBI introduces `10 banknote’ in Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series
The Obverse (Front) and Reverse (Back) of the new Rs 10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series are shown in this specimen copy released by RBI.


Guwahati, January 12 (MExN): After introducing new Rs 2,000 notes and colourful Rs 200, Rs 50 notes, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) will be shortly issuing new banknotes in the Rs 10 denomination.


“The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue Rs 10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi (New) Series, bearing signature of Dr Urjit R. Patel, Governor, Reserve Bank of India,” informed RBI in a press release from its Guwahati office. The RBI had announced the sane on January 5.


The new denomination has motif of Sun Temple, Konark on the reverse, depicting the country’s cultural heritage.


The base colour of the note is Chocolate Brown. The note has other designs, geometric patterns aligning with the overall colour scheme, both at the obverse and reverse.


The last change in design in the old Rs 10 note was made in 2005. In August last year, RBI had introduced the new Rs 200 and Rs 50 notes under the Mahatma Gandhi series.


Post this, after the announcement of demonetisation of old 500 and 1000 rupee notes, the RBI also introduced new 500 and pink coloured 2,000 rupee notes.


All the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 10/- issued by the Reserve Bank in the earlier series will continue to be legal tender.
Salient Features
Obverse (Front):

1. See through register with denominational numeral 10

2. Denominational numeral १० in Devnagari,

3. Portrait of Mahatma Gandhi at the centre,

4. Micro letters ‘RBI’, ‘भारत ‘, ‘INDIA’ and ‘10’,

5. Windowed demetalised security thread with inscriptions ‘भारत’ and RBI,

6. Guarantee Clause, Governor’s signature with Promise Clause and RBI emblem towards right of Mahatma Gandhi portrait,

7. Ashoka Pillar emblem on the right,

8. Mahatma Gandhi portrait and electrotype (10) watermarks,

9. Number panel with numerals growing from small to big on the top left side and bottom right side.


Reverse (Back):

10. Year of printing of the note on the left,

11. Swachh Bharat logo with slogan,

12. Language panel,

13. Motif of Sun Temple, Konark,

14. Denominational numeral १० in Devnagari.


Share this post..
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn