Rock contest prelims kicks-off with a bang

Rock contest prelims kicks-off with a bang
Various bands performing at the International Hornbill Rock Contest held at Agri Expo, Dimapur on December 5. The line up-for day one were Moongohuli (Delhi), Tyrrhenian (Guwahati), Switchblade (Kohima), Svki (Seki) (Mizoram), Quiet Battle (Meghalaya), Yellow Beacon (Dimapur), Snuffer (Diphu) and Pralaya (Darjeeling). A total of 24 bands, five of which are from Nagaland, are competing in the HIRC. (Morung Photo by Manen Aier)


The much-anticipated Hornbill International Rock Contest (HIRC) 2018 kicked off on December 5 with Hindi Rock band, Moongphuli from Delhi opening the 4-day event with a bang.


Altogether eight bands performed on the first day of the preliminary rounds. According to the organiser, each band was allotted 20 minutes for their performance and sequences was decided by lottery.


The bands which performed today are Moongphuli (Delhi), Tyrrhenian (Guwahati, Assam), Switchblade (Kohima, Nagaland), SVKI (Mizoram), Quite Battle (Meghalaya), Yellow Beacon (Dimapur, Nagaland), Snuffer (Diphu) and Pralaya (Darjeeling, West Bengal) respectively.


A total of 24 bands, five of which are from Nagaland, are competing in the HIRC. The other contesting bands are from Karnataka, Delhi, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Assam, Sikkim, Mizoram and Meghalaya.


Over the next two days, three judges will decide which of the nine bands among the contesting 24 bands would enter the grand finale scheduled for December 8.


Arguably the biggest domestic rock fest, and indisputably the highest prize money rock contest in India, the HIRC has become a big draw since its introduction in 2006 as Hornbill National Rock Contest, the organiser maintained.


The event went international in 2013 and with cash awards of Rs.10 lakh for the winner, Rs.5 lakh and Rs.3.5 lakh for the first and second runner-ups respectively, besides individual cash awards and gift hampers, it is hugely-anticipated by both the fans and performers.


The judges for the contest are Derek Julien, Derek Julien, iconic guitarist of Waterfront, one of India’s greatest rock bands; Among Jamir, who plays for Bollywood music director Pritam and himself a contender on the first Hornbill National Rock Contest; and Sonam Sherpa, lead guitarist of renowned band Parikrama since 1991.


The contest is now part of the Hornbill International Music Festival, being managed by LiveNow Events.


Bands in action on Day 2

Ambush (Karbi Anglong, Assam), VIshnu (West Bengal), Vikrit (Ranchi, Jharkhand), Rongpin (Diphu, Assam), Lost Icons (Delhi), Her Illegal Practice (Sikkim), UDX (Dimapur, Nagaland), Meraki (Darjeeling, West Bengal).