Rs. 3.80 lakh prize money for 18th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial

Rs. 3.80 lakh prize money for 18th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial
Organizing committee members with ASU officials during press conference in Kohima on September 12. (Morung Photo)


Our Correspondent
Kohima | September 12

A total prize money of Rs. 3. 80 lakh has been set for the forthcoming 18th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, 2017 being held under the aegis of Angami Students’ Union (ASU) at Kohima Local Ground (Khuochiezie) from September 26 to October 24.


Announcing this in a press conference here today at ASU office, organizing committee convenor Kezhazer Angami said the champions will be awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 1,60,000 while the runner-up will receive Rs. 1 lakh. The 2nd and 3rd runner-up will pocket Rs. 50,000 and Rs. 30,000 respectively while the losing quarter finalists will receive Rs. 10,000 each.


He said that 3rd and 4th prize has been set this year due to the popular demand of the tournament.


There will also be individual prizes for player of the tournament, best custodian, best mid-fielder, highest scorer, best defender and also best disciplined team.


He said the last 17th edition in 2016 witnessed the participation of 66 teams and the organizers are expecting not less than 60 teams this year too.


In case the tournament draws more teams than expected, the organisers informed that it would be compelled to go for 5 matches a day. It would also seek additional playgrounds in and around Kohima since only 28 days was allotted to them in Kohima Local Ground.


The organizers are expecting some teams from neighbouring states as well.


This trophy is organized in honour and in remembrance of the two comrades late Kekuojalie Sachii of Kohima Village and late Vikhozo Yhoshii of Kigwema village, who were victims to the indiscriminate firings of the Armed Police from Alichen, when the students’ fraternity, on March 20, 1986 were on a peaceful duty call of the Naga Students’ Federation to register Nagas’ resentment against the state government’s decision to the extension of Disturbed Area Belt from 5 km – 20 km along the Indo-Myanmar border and against the induction of Indian Police Service (IPS) cadres into the state of Nagaland.


In exercise to honour and keep alive the sacrifices made for the Nagas by the two martyrs and to be the living vanguard in protecting the cause of the younger generations, the Angami Students’ Union, started the herculean task of organizing the Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy.


Starting off in the 80’s, the “Lt. Kekuojalie & Lt. Vikhozo Memorial Trophy” was played annually, but participation was confined only to Angami students’ fraternity.


From 1992 onwards at the behest of the NSF and general public, and also to bestow the memorial trophy in a wider prospective, the trophy was converted into an open football tournament with the nomenclature “Open NSF Martyrs’ Trophy.


The All Zeliangrong Students’ Union having won the trophy for three years consecutively, the trophy went into their possession. Thereafter, a new trophy for the tournament was procured by the ASU and the nomenclature for the same was changed into “NSF Martyrs Memorial Trophy” with the theme “Goal for Peace.”


The last date for form submission has been fixed as September 20. An entry fee of Rs. 5000 will be realized from all participating teams in the tournament.


Entry forms for the tournament have been made available at various locations: Kohima – Sports World (Main Town), Star Sports (BOC, Kohima), ASU Office; Dimapur – Master Graphix, (Super Market); Mokokchung – Chord (MTBA Basement) Opp. Mokokchung Police Point; Chumukedima – Akholie Bakery (Bito Complex); Phek – Desktop Printer near DRDA Office, Phek Town.


For further information, contact 07085178381 or 09615347033.