One ‘critical’ polling station in Mizoram

AIZAWL, April 5 (PTI): The Election Commission has classified only one polling station in Mizoram as ‘critical’, a state election department official said Thursday. Of the 1,175 polling stations in the state, Gegaguluksura in southern Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district was declared as critical. Besides the 1,175 polling stations, 15 more are being set up at Mizoram-Tripura […]

Zodintluanga elected CLP leader Mizoran

Aizawl, December 17 (PTI):  The five-member Congress legislature party (CLP) in Mizoram Monday elected Zodintluanga, a former minister and treasurer of the recently dissolved CLP as its leader, party sources said. Zodintluangahas been CLP treasurer for three consecutive terms (15 years) and is theseniormost Congress legislator who made it to the state legislative assembly inthe […]

Sailo to be elected Mizoram assembly speaker unopposed

Aizawl, December 17 (PTI): The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) legislator Lalrinliana Sailo would be elected unopposed as Speaker of the new Assembly on Tuesday, an official said. Sailo, a former minister in the previous Congress government, is the only candidate to file nomination till 3.30 pm Monday, the deadline for doing it, Assembly secretary […]

BJP losses show people are unhappy: CPI-M

Aizawl, December 12 (IANS): CPI-M leader and former Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar said on Wednesday that the election results in five states “reflected the agony and distress of the people due to misgovernance of the BJP-led Central and state governments.”   Sarkar, currently the Leader of Opposition in Tripura, said that similar anti-Bharatiya Janata […]

MNF wins Mizoram, Congress’ last Northeast state

Aizawl, December  11 (IANS): Securing an absolute majority in the 40-member Mizoram Assembly, the MNF on Tuesday returned to power after a decade, crushing the Congress and ousting it from power in the last Northeastern state it ruled.   The Mizo National Front (MNF), which got only five seats in the 2013 Assembly polls, secured […]

4 persons dead in road mishap at Mizoram-Manipur border

Aizawl, December 11 (PTI): In a tragic incident that took place in the city, four persons including three women were killed in a road accident in Mizoram on Sunday, police said.   Five persons were travelling in a car when it met with an accident at Ngopa village near Mizoram-Manipur border, they said. Four persons […]

Poll personnel leave for Ajasora village for repoll

Aizawl, December 2 (PTI): Polling personnel on Sunday headed for Ajasora polling station in southernmost Tuichawng assembly constituency where repolling is scheduled on Tuesday, election department officials said. Ajasora village, dominated by the Chakma community, is around 150 km from Lawngtlai town, from where the poll personnel began their journey on Sunday.   The repoll […]

Civil society pulls off queue-less voting in booth in Mizoram

Civil society pulls off queue-less voting in booth in Mizoram

 An old woman voter showing mark of indelible ink after casting her vote, at a polling booth, at Govt. Primary School Mission Vengthalang, in Aizawl, during the Mizoram Assembly Election, on November 28, 2018. (PIB Photo:For representational purposes only)   Aizawl, December 2 (PTI): A civil society at Project Veng locality in Kolasib town near here […]

Civil society pulls off queue-less voting in booth in Mizoram

Aizawl, December 2 (PTI): A civil society at Project Veng locality in Kolasib town near here have claimed that they managed to avoid long queues, which causes inconvenience to voters, during the Mizoram Assembly elections on November 28.   The exercise, called ‘Zero-Waiting’ or ‘Queue-less’ was a grand success due to the coordinated efforts of […]

EC orders repoll in Ajasora polling station in Mizoram

Aizawl, November 30 (PTI): The Election Commission Friday ordered repoll at Ajasora polling station in Tuichawng Assembly constituency of Mizoram for non-functioning of EVMs on the polling day, an election official said.   The repoll will be conducted on December four, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer H Lianzela said.   Over 300 voters could not exercise […]

1 2 3 21