TR forms cabinet

TR forms cabinet

10 member Council of Ministers sworn-in by Governor


Our Correspondent
Kohima | July 22


Four days after TR Zeliang was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland, a 10-member council of ministers was sworn-in today by Nagaland State Governor P.B. Acharya. He administered the oath of office and secrecy to them here this afternoon at a swearing-in ceremony at Durbar Hall, Raj Bhavan.


TR Zeliang won the “Confidence Motion” in the Nagaland Assembly on July 21 with 47 members voting in favor of him and 11 voting against.


The council of ministers include: G. Kaito Aye, Imkong L. Imchen, Tokheho Yepthomi, Y. Patton, Kipili Sangtam, Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Imtilemba Sangtam, Kejong Chang, Neiba Kronu and Mmhonlumo Kikon.


Nagaland’s lone Lok Sabha MP Neiphiu Rio was also present at the swearing-in ceremony.


Later, talking to media persons, Chief Minister TR Zeliang said the allocation of portfolios to the council of ministers will take a few days.


He said the allocation of portfolios will be done after the induction of parliamentary secretaries and advisors after two to three days. He also said the induction of one more cabinet minister will be done on Monday, July 24, at 9:00 am.


BJP gets two
cabinet posts
Nagaland State BJP expressed gratefulness to Chief Minister TR Zeliang for “keeping the trust of the DAN Alliance” and thereby, allocating two cabinet posts to two of its MLAs.


BJP’s Mmhonlumo Kikon and Imtilemba Sangtam were sworn in as cabinet ministers by Nagaland Governor PB Acharya on Saturday.


In a statement, Nagaland State BJP exuded confidence that they will perform their best in “true spirit and aspirations” of the DAN government and wished the new Cabinet a successful tenure.


Hoping that “appropriate portfolios” would be allocated to the Cabinet Ministers, the State BJP called for accommodating the other two party MLAs “in suitable manner.”


Council of Ministers

G Kaito Aye
Imkong L Imchen
Tokheho Yepthomi
Y Patton
Kipili Sangtam
Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire
Imtilemba Sangtem
Kejong Chang
Neiba Kronu
Mmhonlumo Kikon