Violence disrupts poll process in Inner Manipur constituency

Violence disrupts poll process in Inner Manipur constituency

Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh shows his inked finger after casting his vote for the second phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections, in Imphal on April 18. (Photo: IANS)

Newmai News Network
Imphal | April 18

Nearly a dozen people including two polling officials were injured as violent incidents were reported in some polling stations where voting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency was held on Thursday.
Incidents of ransacking a polling station and clashes among the workers of BJP and Congress were reported in some polling stations in Imphal East district where malpractices. Meanwhile, the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) office put the preliminary overall voter turnout at 80.80%.

In a polling station at Kiyamgei Leikai under Thongju assembly segment of Imphal East district, security force personnel guarding the polling station fired some rounds of shots in the air after a large number of people stormed and ransacked the polling booth including the voting units (EVMs). The people stormed the station after male security personnel allegedly frisked women voters while entering for casting vote. However, the polling official denied. The officials said that a group people supporting a particular candidate ransacked the EVMs after the officials prohibited them from indulging in proxy voting.

In a bid to put the situation under control, the security force fired some rounds in the air. They also baton-charged before an additional police team rushed in to take control of the situation. In the melee, two polling officials sustained injuries, reports said.

Outside the same polling station, workers of BJP clashed with Congress supporters, injuring at least six persons. They were rushed to a government Primary Health Centre nearby for medical treatment.

Tensions were also reported in as many as six polling stations in Andro assembly constituency of Imphal East district after supporters of a particular candidate prevented election agents of other candidates from sitting in the polling stations. Following the incident, a clash broke out between Congress and BJP workers resulting in the injuries of three persons including a former Gram Panchayat Pradhan.

Noting the matter seriously, CPI candidate Dr M Nara Singh has demanded re-poll in these polling station. At one of the polling stations in the Chief Minister home constituency (Heingang assembly segment), workers of two rival parties engaged in a heated exchange of words after the VVPAT was found installed outside the voting compartment and forced the voters to cast vote for a particular candidate. A man sustained injury after police personnel guarding the station beat him up when he lodged a complaint, reports said.

Other than these incidents, the voting at the 1300 polling stations of Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency was peaceful.

Manipur Guv, CM jump queue to vote

Imphal, April 18 (IANS): Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah and Chief Minister N. Biren Singh jumped the queues to vote in the election to the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat on Thursday. Voters, some of who who had lined up even before the polling stations opened at 7 a.m., were not amused. Some pointed out that many other politicians had stood patiently in queues along with the general people. Heptulla’s name is registered in the Sagolband Assembly constituency under which the Raj Bhavan falls. “I am very happy to exercise the franchise… I urge all voters to vote to choose their MPs who will champion their cause,” she told the media later. The Chief Minister and his wife voted in a polling booth under the Heingang Assembly constituency. There are 9.28 lakh eligible voters and 11 candidates in this phase. Polling in the Outer Manipur constituency was held on April 11.