Vote counting arrangements made for May 23

Vote counting arrangements made for May 23

Our Correspondent
Kohima | May 21

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha today informed that counting of votes for the Lok Sabha election 2019 from 1-Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency and By-election to Nagaland Legislative Assembly from 26-Aonglenden Assembly Constituency will take place on May 23 from 8:00am onwards.

Talking to media persons, he said that all necessary arrangements are in place throughout the state for ensuring smooth and proper counting. The entire counting for the Parliamentary Constituency will be done at 13 locations in the state. Each of the 11 districts and Pughoboto Sub-Division will have counting centers. The counting of postal ballot for the entire Parliamentary Constituency will be done in the office of Returning Officer and Commissioner, Nagaland.

The counting of votes for the By-election to Nagaland Legislative Assembly from 26-Aonglenden (ST) AC will be done by the SDO (C) Hq. Mokokchung and Returning Officer at Mokokchung.

Sinha informed that for the parliamentary constituency counting, there will be 2 counting halls each in Dimapur, Kohima, Phek, Mokokchung, Zunheboto, Mon and Tuensang; and one each in Peren, Pughoboto, Wokha, Longleng and Kiphire.

In each of the counting halls, the Assembly Segment assigned against that hall will be counted sequentially in an ascending order from the lowest numbered Assembly Segment under the supervision of the Assistant Retuning Officer.

The ECI has deployed 20 counting observers for the Parliamentary Election and 1 counting observer for the By-election, he said. He also stated that all the districts have completed the preparation of the counting halls in line with the guidelines, and detailed training to all counting personnel has been given.

The paths that will be taken for transportation of EVMs from the Strong Rooms to Counting Halls have been delineated and barricaded and under CCTV coverage.

The CEO further informed that Assistant Returning Officers from all 12 locations would regularly upload round wise data on the online portal of the ECI and submit the same to the Returning Officer & Commissioner, Nagaland.

Results of the counting will be displayed live on the website of the Election Commission of India at, It can also be seen in the Voter Helpline Mobile App which is available for download at the Google Play Store.

After completion of the last round of counting of votes, there would be mandatory verification of VVPAT paper slips of 5 randomly selected polling stations of an Assembly Segment.

These 5 polling stations will be selected through a draw of lots by the concerned ARO and counting of VVPATs would be done in a sequential manner.

Meanwhile, counting centers for Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBs) will be at the Commissioner’s office, Kohima and for the Bye-election to 26-Aonglnden A/C at Town Hall, Mokokchung.

Security arrangement
The Superintendents of Police in all the locations have made detailed security arrangements. The CEO informed that there would be a three-tier security system in place. The 1st and 2nd tiers are to be manned by DEF/NAP/IR, while the 3rd and last tier close to the counting hall will be manned by personnel from the CAPF.