WCYO Biennial Sports Meet culminates

WCYO Biennial Sports Meet culminates

Kudecho Khamo, former NDPP candidate and Chairman, EDA addressing the youths during the WCYO Biennial Sports Meet held at Bade Village on January 12. (Photo Courtesy: WCYO)

Dimapur, January 12 (MExN): Western Chakhesang Youth Organisation (WCYO) Biennial Sports Meet held at Bade Village culminated today.

Guest of Honour at the closing function Kudecho Khamo, former NDPP candidate and Chairman, Entrepreneurs Development Agency, in his address said it is God’s providence that have brought the youth from the community to this particular platform in Dimapur which is considered the best in the state, stated a press release from WCYO President Likalo Letro.

He said Dimapur though inhabited by citizens of different communities speaking different languages and having diverse cultural, social and religious backgrounds, is a shining example of the beauty of unity in diversity.

Khamo said youths should not expect others to build their future but should make plans for their own future as the doors of opportunity lie open before them. Adding that sports today is not just a hobby but a serious career option, he said only the fittest can survive in the arena and exhorted the youth to strive for the highest level of perfection not only in sports but in all disciplines.

Khamo also urged them to protect their identity, uphold their honesty and guard their integrity at all costs.

Also addressing the programme, Dietho Rhakho, President, Western Chakhesang Hoho (WCH) stressed on the importance of participating in sporting activity. He said although through technology we can develop skills it is also important to inculcate physical activity to maintain a healthy and fit body for which participation in games and sports not only benefits the body but also rejuvenates the mind. He also appreciated the purpose of the Sports Meet and urged the gathering to continue the good hardworking nature the citizens of the community are known for.

The Group Champion title was lifted by Diezephe Unit while the Best Disciplines Team was bagged by Toulazouma Unit. Champions for different disciplines were Football- Sodzulhou; Volleyball (Men) – Diezephe; Volleyball women-Jalukie Zangdi; Relay race men -7th mile; Relay race ( women)- Diezephe; men Badminton doubles- Dimapur Town; and Women Badminton Doubles- Diezephe.