160 star campaigners for Nagaland’s only LS seat

160 star campaigners for Nagaland’s only LS seat

Guwahati, April 1 (MExN): News18 reported today that Nagaland State’s lone Lok Sabha seat will see as many as 160 star campaigners for the four battling parties – the BJP, Congress, Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP).

The list of BJP star campaigners’ list includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Minister for Roads Transport Nitin Gadkari, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju, national general secretary and in-charge of North East Ram Madhav, State BJP president, Temjen Imna Along, Deputy Chief Minister, Y. Patton, and others.

Bollywood superstar Hema Malini and TV actress and Union Minister Smriti Irani are expected to be crowd pullers given their fan-following, reported News18.

The Congress has shortlisted 40 names as its star campaigners, which includes party president Rahul Gandhi, general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, former Nagaland State Chief Minister Dr. SC Jamir, State Congress president K Therie and former Goa Chief Minister Luizinho Faleiro, Navjot Singh Sidhu.

The NPF also put out a list of 40 star campaigners led by the party’s president, Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsü. The list includes former Chief Minister TR Zeliang, working presidents Huskha Yepthomi and Apong Pongener, Rajya Sabha MP KG Kenye, former home minister Kuzholuzo (Azo) Nienu, former ministers Imkong L Imchen, Yitachu, Chotisuh Sazo, Chumben Murry, Vikheho Swu and Ngangshi K Ao.

The NDPP has listed 40 star campaigners comprising mainly its party leaders including Neiphiu Rio, Chingwang Konyak, Abu Metha and Alemtemshi Jamir.