Nagaland: 14th NLA slightly aged than 2018 despite more MLAs below 5o yrs

•    One octogenarian, 22 between 60-70 years
•    23 members in 50 years or below

Moa Jamir 
Dimapur | March 6

As the process for shaping the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) formally begins on March 7 with the swearing-in ceremony of the Chief Minister and others ministers, the House will be slightly aged than 2018, though the number of legislators under 50 has increased.

As per the analysis of affidavits submitted before the general elections, out of 60 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) elected after the general elections held on February 27, a total of 23 members or 38.33% were aged 50 years or below.

In the 13th NLA, there were 21 legislators in the 50 years and below age group. 

However, with the increase in number of septuagenarians (between 70-79 years) and sexagenarians (60-69 years), there was a marginal increase in the average age of the 60 MLAs from 54.15 in 2018 to 56.22 years in 2023.

As per a report prepared by the Association for Democratic Reforms regarding the sitting MLAs in Nagaland, there were four septuagenarian and sexagenarian in the 13th NLA.

In 2023, the septuagenarian has increased to 6 while those in 60-69 years age group increased to 18.

The age of lone octogenarian who was re-elected in 2023, meanwhile, has increased from 81 to 86 years. 

Members’ age profile
Out of 60 MLAs, the oldest member is the veteran Noke Wangnao (86) who was re-elected from the Tapi Assembly Constituency (AC).

The second oldest member is TN Mannen at 73 from the Impur AC, while at 72, Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Imkong L Imchen and C Kipili Sangtam were in the third.

Meanwhile, there were 18 sexagenarians among the members, ranging from 60-69 years, while 12 were in the 50-59 years cohort.

At the other end, a total of 23 members were aged below 50 years or below.

The youngest member was the first-time MLA Imtichoba (35), who was elected from the Tuensang Sardar II AC.

Another debutant Benei M Lamthiu, 42, from Thonokyu AC was the second youngest.

Two-time MLAs, Temjen Imna Along, N. Jacob Zhimomi, Tongpang Ozukum along with two first-timers C Manpon Konyak and Y Mankhao Konyak, all aged 42, were the third youngest MLAs.

Out of the political parties, the Republican Party of India (Athawale) with 2 members had the youngest average age of 44 years, followed by the lone Janatal Dal United MLA, who was aged 45. 

The Naga People’s Front (2 members) at 52 was in the third, followed by 53 years for 4 Independents.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with 12 members had an average age of 54.08 years.

In terms of relative age, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) with 25 members has the oldest average age at 59.24, followed by the National People’s Party (NPP) at 57, with 5 members. 

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with 7 members has an average age of 56.