Presidential poll: Nagaland CM not allowed inside polling booth

Kohima, July 17 (MExN): Nagaland Chief Minister Shürhozelie Leizietsu was reportedly stopped from entering the NLA hall when he went to oversee the presidential polls today.


State Assembly officials however denied physically barring the Chief Minister, but Shürhozelie termed the incident unfortunate and said the assembly should be above any political parties. The CM said some assembly officials pushed and pulled his blazer when he went there to see the voting.


“As the head of government, I went round to see if proper security and logistics were arranged. But a staff of the Assembly pulled me from behind, which is improper,” the CM was quoted as saying in an IANS report. Later NLA Speaker, reportedly went and apologized.


Liezietsu could not cast his ballot as he is not an elected member to the NLA.


The IANS report also said that earlier, the dissident NPF and Independent legislators, who are supporting Zeliang, came in two mini buses to vote. One of the rebel legislators said that all of them have voted for NDA’s nominee Ram Nath Kovind, the report added.


Meanwhile, NPF party workers lined up holding up several placards outside the state assembly complex and jeered at the dissident legislators.


59 Nagaland MLAs cast votes for Prez election


Our Correspondent
Kohima | July 17
59 members of the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) today participated in the electoral process of Presidential Election here by casting their votes. The poll took place from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm at the Nagaland Assembly Secretariat, Kohima. In general, the total strength of the electoral college is 10,98,903 votes, with each Parliamentarian carrying a vote value of 708. The vote weight of a member of a State Assembly is calculated keeping in mind the population of the state he or she represents. A candidate needs 50 per cent-plus votes to win the poll which translates to 5,49,452 votes. The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in Delhi. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term is expiring on July 25.

Share this post..
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn