2nd Chumukedima Inter Ward tourney concludes

DMC chief advisor Er. Keditsu along with CTC chief advisor T Shuya, EAC Chumukedima Henok Buchem and others pose for lens with the champion football team of the Chumukedima Inter-Ward tournament on January 21. (Morung Photo)

Chumukedima, January 21 (MExN): The 2nd Inter Ward Tournament organized by Chumukedima Town Council (CTC) concluded friday at Chumukedima public ground with chief advisor of Dimapur Municipal Council, Er. K Keditsu, as the guest of honour. The chief guest in his speech said that though Nagas are fond of talking about sports and games and organizing numerous sporting events, yet Naga sportsmen and women have failed to make the desired mark outside the state. He wondered whether this was due to lack of commitment and dedication on the part of sportsmen. Keditsu who is also the vice president of Nagaland Olympic Association said that Nagaland government under chief minister Neiphiu Rio is presently putting best efforts to promote Naga sportsmen and women.
He said that the new sports policy adopted by the state government is encouraging sports and games by proving incentives and job avenues to talented sports persons.
The DMC chief advisor also lauded the efforts of CTC and the organizing committee for successfully conducting the tournament. To the players, he said that one way to express gratitude to the organizers is to maintain discipline and good conduct even off the field. As a token of appreciation, Keditsu also donated Rs. 25,000 to the organizers.
CTC advisor Razouvotuo Chatsu chaired the closing programme and CTC advisor Beituo Hama proposed vote of thanks. CTC advisor Meribeni felicitated the chief guest.
Besides CTC chief advisor T Shuya and is colleagues, DMC advisors, EAC Chumukedima Henok Buchem and others attended the closing ceremony.

Results of CTC Inter-Ward Tournament
Football (Men)
Champion – Ward 5
Runner-up – Ward 2
Volleyball (Mens)
Champion – New Chumukedima Village
Runner-up – Ward 9
Volleyball (Women)
Champion – Ward 7
Runner-up – Ward 10
Badminton (Mens single)
Champion – Vihoto (Ward 1)
Runner-up – Kevishel (Ward 5)
 Badminton (Womens single)
Champion – Tialila (Ward 9)
Runner-up – Mhasilenuo (Chumukedima village)
Badminton (Mens doubles)
Champion – Ward 9
Runner-up – Ward 9
 Best disciplined team: Ward 6