APPCC constituted on 33% women reservation bill

Kohima, December 8 (MExN): In pursuance of the decision taken during the 2nd consultative meeting of all political parties on 33 per cent Women Reservation Bill held on November 25 last, the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) Speaker, Kiyanilie Peseyie, has constituted an All Political Parties Consultative Committee (APPCC) for wider consultation with various sections of the Naga society and to examine its applicability to the state of Nagaland.

The Committee will be headed by Deputy Speaker Ralanthung Yanthan as convenor, with the following members – Dr. Shurhozelie, minister, Chingwang Konyak, leader of opposition, M C Konyak, minister, Dr. Ngangshi Ao, minister, Dr. Chumben Murry, minister, K L Chishi, MLA, Kaijon Zeliang, working president of BSP, Khetovi Kinny, president of RJD, Akhei Achumi, president of Samajwadi Party, and Mhonjan Lotha, secretary general of JD(U).

Meanwhile, the convenor of the committee has convened a preliminary meeting of the APPCC on December 12 at 11:00 am on the Committee Room, Assembly Secretariat. All committee members have been requested to attend the meeting.