Democratic Progressive Party formed in Nagaland

DIMAPUR, MAY 17 (MExN): A new political party called the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) was formed today in Chumukedima, Dimapur, and held its first general body meeting.  

The party is led by Chingwang Konyak as President. A press release from the DPP stated that the party was formed in response to the “feelings of the masses, who strongly desire for formation of a new political organisation.”  

During today’s meeting the house unanimously resolved to strengthen the peace process and contribute towards realization of early, honorable and wholesome resolution of the Naga political problem. The DPP asserted that it will leave no stone unturned in its efforts to mobilize public opinion and support that is aimed at achieving early political solution and the realization of genuine peace, real unity and collective brotherhood.  

The party further stated that it would make all out efforts for strengthening of democratic principles at all levels of society and oppose corruption, violence and injustice. “The DPP will stand for transparency, strive for respect of human rights and dignity, protect freedom of speech and expression, work for upliftment of weaker and marginalized sections of society, uphold gender equality and endeavor to protect our rich cultural heritage,” it added.  

It also affirmed to combat social evils and work towards a society that recognizes merit, promotes innovation, supports creativity and allows art to flourish. “The party and all its organs will continuously strive for emergence of the people’s voice, the realization of the people’s aspirations and will reflect the desire and will of the masses. The party will be regional in spirit, national in outlook and act in accordance with global issues and concerns that include protection of the environment and responsible actions towards climate change,” it said.  

It informed that the newly formed party has opened its doors for all those who “aspire to work for the people and are willing to make efforts towards resolution of the political conflict and contribute towards bringing early and honorable political solution in the greater interest of all sections of society.”  

Today’s meeting was chaired by DPP President, Chingwang Konyak, and attended by all CEB members. The meeting decided to begin the process of enrolment at the earliest after establishment of a fully working secretariat at the Central Headquarters of the Party, which will be situated at Chumukedima, Dimapur, Nagaland.  

Sources meanwhile informed that the party plans to approach the Election Commission of India soon for its registration, after which another launch of the party will be held.  

The party is led by President, Chingwang Konyak; Vice Presidents, Nuzota Swuro, Dr. Chumben Murry, K. Sukhalu, Dr. Sukhato and Menuovilie; Secretary General, Abu Metha; Treasurer, Dr. John Murry; and General Secretaries, Rusemtong Longkumer, Benjamin Lorin, and Pausi Zeliang.