DoHE starts disbursing Post Matric Scholarship in Nagaland

Minister Temjen Imna Along and others during the press conference held in Kohima on July 7. (Morung Photo)

Minister Temjen Imna Along and others during the press conference held in Kohima on July 7. (Morung Photo)

Our Correspondent
Kohima | July 7

The State’s Directorate of Higher Education (DoHE) has started disbursing the first installment of Post Matric Scholarship (PMS) for ST students of Nagaland for the year 2019-20.

The beneficiary list of both PMS and State Merit & Research Scholarship (SMRS) have been uploaded in the directorate website

Students whose names are in the beneficiary list but failed to receive their scholarship by July 17, 2020 may contact the DoHE office during office hours or email at

The department has also disbursed State Merit & Research Scholarship for the year 2019-20 in the month of May 2020.

The DoHE is implementing three scholarship schemes, said Keduosielie Keyho, OSD (Scholarship) while addressing a press conference here today in the presence of Nagaland’s Higher & Technical Education and Tribal Affairs Minister Temjen Imna Along and other officials from the department as well as  from All Nagaland College Students Union (ANCSU). Keyho said that the department has adopted Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) Mode of Scholarship payment in the year 2010.

The new Revised Scholarship rates for all the four categories has been approved by the state government and central government in the year on 2016 for PMS and SMRS after a gap of 25 years (since 1991).

The Scheme Implementing Agency has started implementing the Public Financial Management System of scholarship payment in the year 2019 for payment of PMS to ST students of Nagaland.

The state government had made scholarship section under the DHE as Coordinating Nodal Cell with all the scholarship implementing departments and agencies in Nagaland.

Higher Education Director, Dr Apeni Lotha said that the scholarship cell has been working very hard and doing their best for the students of Nagaland.

She lauded Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio and Higher & Technical Education and Tribal Affairs Minister Along for showing much concern for the students and sanctioning the amount for disbursement of the scholarship.

This is a big relief for the families and a big help for students in time of admission, she said.

ANCSU president Vimeyiekho Vitso also appreciated the department for releasing the scholarship when students are in most need of the same for their academic purpose. Also stressing on the need to streamline the scholarship scheme, he assured that “ANCSU is ever ready to give our utmost support and cooperation towards this endeavor.”


Scholarship schemes in Nagaland


Post Matric Scholarship for ST students of Nagaland
The funding pattern for this scheme is 90:10. It is applicable only for Nagas of Nagaland whose parent/guardian income from all sources does not exceed 2.5 lakh annually. For the year 2019-2020, Rs 1939.68 lakh was given as first installment to 39, 975 ST students.


100% State Funded Merit & Research Scholarship
State Merit: All the meritorious students who scored a minimum of 80% for higher secondary and students who scored a minimum of 70% in degree/PG exam are eligible for this. Non-Naga students studying within Nagaland are also eligible provided there are in the Top-10 list.

Research Scholarship: This scheme is applicable only for Nagas of Nagaland who are pursuing M.Phil/Doctoral degree in any field from any recognized University or Colleges.

For the year 2019-20, Rs 266.21 lakh was given to 1734 meritorious students while a sum of Rs 33.56 lakh was given to 132 research scholars.


NEC-Stipend & Book Grant
The funding pattern is 90:10. All bonafide professional students of Nagaland and the general students (Indian) at large are eligible for this. The minimal eligibility criterion is 60% for NE students and 70% for general category students.

For the year 2019-20, the Scheme Implementing Agency has selected 74 eligible professional students amounting to Rs 16.62 lakh. The sanction is still awaited.


Click here to subscribe to
The Morung Express e-Paper

Click here to download
The Morung Express App