INDIA bloc, Manipur unit alleges threats on its campaign leaders

Newmai News Network
Imphal | April 14

The INDIA bloc, Manipur unit, on Sunday strongly condemned the alleged threats posed by miscreants on the leaders of the bloc who are campaigning for the Congress candidates in Manipur.

The Manipur unit of the INDIA bloc is extending support to the two candidates of the Congress after declaring them as consensus candidates of the bloc. The bloc has fielded Prof Dr Angomcha Bimol Akoijam in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency and Alfred Kanngam Arthur in the Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary constituency.

Addressing a press conference at Congress Bhavan here, INDIA bloc, Manipur unit, convener Kshetrimayum Santa alleged that besides foiling the election campaigns of the consensus candidates of the bloc, miscreants are threatening the leaders of the bloc.

He said that the miscreants are visiting the houses of the prominent leaders of the bloc and threatening them not to participate in the election campaigns with dire consequences.

This is nothing but showcasing lawlessness in the state, he said, while lamenting that in such a situation, there is doubt of holding the ensuing elections in a free and fair manner.

He then urged the state government to check such instances of threatening the leaders of political parties while maintaining the law and order effectively for the peaceful conduct of the elections.

While stating that the INDIA bloc, Manipur unit, is committed to conduct the ensuing elections in a free and fair manner, the convener of the bloc appealed to all sections of the society campaigning for a free and fair election, to have a close watch on these activities.

The convener of the bloc assured that both the consensus candidates of the bloc will abide by all available rules to ensure free and fair elections and will not indulge in luring voters with money or other means.

The parties in the bloc will also abide by the rules framed by the election conducting authorities for the free and fair elections, he added.

Leaders of the other constituent parties of the bloc namely Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray), Aam Aadmi Party, Revolutionary Socialist Party, All India Forward Bloc and All India Trinamool Congress also attended the press conference.