LS Election 2024: Polling remains mostly peaceful in Nagaland

Polling Station No. 107, situated in GPS Tenyiphe 1 within the 4 Ghaspani-1 area of Chümoukedima. (Morung Photo)

Polling Station No. 107, situated in GPS Tenyiphe 1 within the 4 Ghaspani-1 area of Chümoukedima. (Morung Photo)

Kohima, April 19 (MExN): The electoral landscape in Kohima town remained peaceful as residents exercised their democratic rights on April 19. With a total of 122,008 voters in the electoral roll spread across 186 polling stations in Kohima district, the electoral process unfolded smoothly, stated a DIPR report. 

In an act of inclusivity, Polling Station no. 2, KMC Building in 9-Kohima Town Assembly Constituency, situated at D Block middle, was manned by People with Disabilities (PWDs). 

There were six Model Polling Stations in the district. All the 28 polling stations under 10 Northern Angami-1 A/C were managed by all Women Polling Officials.

All-women polling team returns to DC Office Complex, Kohima from their polling station after successfully completing the voting process on April 19. (DIPR Photo)

Also, six Polling stations were manned by young employees below 30 years including five male polling teams and one female team. The young female team took care of PS 17, Indoor TT Stadium under 8-Western Angami AC where Governor La Ganesan and DC and DEO Kohima, Kumar Ramnikant IAS also cast their votes.

Chümoukedima: Polling Day at 4 Ghaspani-l and 5 Ghaspani-ll was conducted peacefully at all 175 polling stations under Chümoukedima district on April 19. Out of 175, under 4 Ghaspani-l there were 12 polling stations for all women polling personnel and 2 polling stations for all young polling personnel and in 5 Ghaspani-ll there were 8 polling stations for all women polling personnel.

As part of the commission initiative to provide a comfortable experience to women voters, women managed polling station were set up at polling stations. All polling stations were equipped with Assured Minimum Facilities (AMF) with drinking water, waiting shed, toilet, ramp of appropriate gradient for wheelchair for PwDs electors and a standard voting compartment were made available at all the polling stations. Volunteers assisting persons with disability and senior citizens were also put in place.

Dimapur: The 18th Lok Sabha elections in Dimapur culminated smoothly on April 19 with no untoward incidents reported from Dimapur -I, Dimapur-II & Dimapur -III.

According to the National Informatics Centre (NIC), Dimapur, the voter turnout percentages in the respective constituencies at 6:30 PM were as follows: Dimapur -I: 74.89%; Dimapur -II: 75.86%; Dimapur -III: 79.55%.

It may be mentioned that a total of 172 polling stations, comprising 132 male-led and 40 female-led polling stations, were effectively managed across Dimapur -I, Dimapur -II & Dimapur –III

Pughoboto: The General Election to the 18th Lok Sabha successfully started at 7:00 AM in Pughoboto Election District as electors from 34 Polling Stations(PS) across the sub-division voted to elect the lone MP for Nagaland state in the first phase of polls on April 19. The poll day witnessed a good voter turnout as both male and female voters, senior citizens, first time voters and even PwD voters queued in the early morning hours to cast their vote. Polling agents from respective political parties also witnessed the polls at all PS.

The District Election Office under the guidance and supervision of ADC & DEO, Tiameren Chang along with other district officials efficiently conducted the entire electoral process in accordance to ECI protocols. The electoral team consisting of Sector Magistrates, Sector Commanders, Presiding Officers, Polling Officers, Security Personnel, Micro Observers and Webcasting Officials carried out the polls diligently. Preceding the poll day, the Election Expenditure Monitoring (EEM) consisting of Flying Squad Team, Static Surveillance Team, Video Surveillance Team, Video Viewing Team and Accounting Team effectively monitored election expenditure of various political parties and respective candidates, and all reports were submitted to Election Expenditure Observer promptly. 

During the polls, Polling Officers-I made good and timely use of Pollstar App for updates on number of votes cast every 2 hours which were further tracked for record by the IT support team at ADC Office, Pughoboto. Also, Webcasting at 16 critical PS was intensively monitored by Webcasting team at ADC Office.

Phek: The 18th Lok Sabha Election 2024 for 1-Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency was peacefully conducted across Phek district on April 19 from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM. All Polling personnel dispatched to 203 polling stations of Phek district returned to the Office of the Deputy Commission & District Election Officer Phek to submit the EVMs/VVPATs from 5:00 PM onwards.