Nagaland: TaFMA Excellence Award conferred

Awardees of the TaFMA Excellence Awards during the ceremony at RCEMPA on September 4. (Morung Photo)

Awardees of the TaFMA Excellence Awards during the ceremony at RCEMPA on September 4. (Morung Photo)

Morung Express News
Kohima | September 4

Governor of Nagaland, La. Ganesan on Monday evening said that the Task Force for Music and Arts (TaFMA) has been a beacon of cultural excellence in Nagaland since its inception. Addressing the TaFMA Excellence Award Ceremony at RCEMPA on September 4, he said, “under the vision of the State Government, TaFMA has not just thrived but has flourished and its impact is felt not only in the creative heart of our state but also resonates strongly in the digital platforms.”

Stating that TaFMA’s dedication to the promotion and preservation of music and the arts in Nagaland is nothing short of remarkable, he highlighted that “they have worked tirelessly to create platforms and opportunities for artists and musicians to showcase their talents, both within and outside our state’s borders.”

He said that their initiatives range from organizing cultural festivals and exhibitions to providing financial support and training to budding artists and further commended the government for playing a pivotal role in nurturing and supporting the music and arts fraternity in Nagaland.

Recognizing the cultural richness and artistic potential of our state, he added that “the government has consistently allocated resources and implemented policies to bolster the creative sector.” These efforts, he said, “have resulted in a thriving artistic community that contributes not only to our cultural heritage but also to our economy.”

As they applaud the eleven recipients who have excelled in various artistic fields, he expressed that “we also celebrate the efforts of TaFMA and all its stakeholders.” He added, “Together, they have fostered an environment where creativity knows no bounds. Nagaland, with its lush landscapes, rich traditions, and exceptional talents, stands as a testament to what can be achieved when artistry is nurtured.” 

He also extended his heartfelt gratitude to TaFMA and all those who have tirelessly supported the music and arts fraternity in Nagaland while putting across that “together, we have created a legacy of creativity and excellence that will continue to inspire generations to come.”

“Let us cherish this evening as a reflection of our commitment to the arts and a celebration of the boundless artistic potential that Nagaland holds,” he said while exuding hope that the spirit of creativity and artistic expression will continue to shine brightly in our beloved state and beyond.

As a department that seeks to promote arts and music, Theja Meru, Chairman of Task Force for Music and Arts (TaFMA) thanked the Chief Minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio, under whose vision TaFMA has grown to be an important cultural, artistic and musical landmark in the country’s music and arts ecosystem.

He said that because of his faith in them, artists have found a new confidence and enabling the youth push boundaries and breaking the glass ceiling.

He also stated his appreciation for Abu Metha, the Advisor to the Chief Minister for always being there, and for guiding, encouraging and supporting the crazy dreams of TaFMA. He further thanked the Department of Youth Resources and Sports for ensuring that the engine of TaFMA keeps roaring and Toyota for taking big steps to support the endeavour. He also thanked the Managing Director of Toyota, Vikheho Swu for his partnership and for coming forward to support and encourage our talents.

Further commending the 11 extraordinary achievers who have proved themselves both nationally and internationally, he said that the Excellence Award was a gesture to say 'thank you' for working so hard, for the inspiration and for making Nagaland proud. He also thanked the TaFMA family for working day in and day out to ensure that our artists are being propelled to the forefront of Entertainment, music business and artistic achievements at national and international platforms.

“God bless Nagaland and may we truly become a state of excellence,” he further expressed.

The 11 achievers who were given the TaFMA Excellence Award were Abel Asumi, Artiste of the year (International Brilliance Award), Moa Subong, Padma Shri Award, Sunep A Jamir, 4 Superwinners of Nexa Music, Guru Zacünü Keyho, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award, Imnainla Jamir, the H.E.R Award (Hope. Empower. Raise), Moko Koza, Best Hip Hop Rap Artist Award at the Radio City Freedom Aeards, Kuvelü Tetseo, Indian Icon Awards, Tetseo Sisters, National Excellence Award, NK Naga, Sangeet Natak Akademi, Tonoto Zhimomi, Mister Altitude World People's Choice Award and Andrea Kevichüsa, Filmfare Award, Best Debut Female. Andrea Kevichüsa was also awarded the ultimate Achiever Award and presented with a Toyota Glanza. The other achievers were awarded with medallion and a cash award of Rs 20,000 each.

Highlights of the TaFMA Excellence Awards also included a “TaFMA Show” featuring different local artists. Those present at the event included Advisor to Chief Minister of Nagaland, Abu Metha, Speaker of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, Sharingain and S Keoshu Yimchunger, Advisor to Youth Resources and Sports.