NE Consumer Awards unveils preferred brands

Guwahati, January 15: A total of 55 consumer products, brands and services emerged winners in various categories at a red carpet award ceremony for the North-East Consumer Awards 2013, held in Guwahati last Saturday. Ranjit Barthakur, founder and chairman of Globally Managed Services, and Bimal Kumar Baruah, executive director-cum-asset manager of ONGC Assam Asset were conferred with Life Time Achievement Awards. Bhubaneswar Kalita, Chairman, House Committee, Rajya Sabha attended the occasion as chief guest while H.E. Mr. Saw Myint Oo, Minister of Sangaing region of Myanmar and H.E. Mr. U Myint Than, Minister of Mandalay region of Myanmar was the guests of honour.

North-East Consumer Awards 2013 was hosted by Dainik Purvoday along with News Channel DY365, Royal Group of Institutions, Apex Body of Industry Indian Chamber of Commerce and English Daily the Times of India.

The most preferred cellular service and mobile internet service provider was Airtel, while Vodafone was the most popular brand across all categories. In the automobile category, the most preferred car was Maruti Suzuki and Tata Motors was most preferred commercial vehicle brand. Hyundai Grande i10 and Ford Ecosport won the Compact Car of the Year and SUV of the Year award respectively. Hero, Honda, Indigo and Tata Motors were other winners in this category. Most preferred cement brand was Star Cement while Asian Paints was most preferred pain brand. In the FMCG category, Vivel was the most preferred bodycare brand while Dove was most preferred haircare brand. The most preferred Air Conditioned and Refrigerator brand were LG and Samsung, Sony, Panasonic.

In the financial services category, SBI emerged was the most preferred banker, while LIC was the most preferred life Insurer. Winners list included Samsung, Panasonic, Nokia, Samsung Mobile, Horlicks, Amul Taaza, Britannia Good Day, Nestle Munch, HP, Canon, Allen Solly, Manik Chand Jewellers, Titan, Reliance Trends Bisou Bisou, Vishal Mega Mart, Big Bazaar, Pantaloons, Tata Tiscon, Jindal Panther, Videocon 4k DDB, Bajaj Electricals, Eureka Forbes Aquaguard, Godrej Interio, Tata Sky, Dish TV, Kumar Gaurav, ONGC, Motilal Oswal, Pushpak Air Travels, Perception and Good Buy.

Awards are broadly divided under two categories - Consumers’ Choice Awards and Jury’s Choice Awards. Selection for the former is based on quantitative study conducted by market intelligence agency Oikonomist’s and data further processed and analysed by IMRB International with a total sample size of 2000 from entire NE, while the latter is based on consensus or majority views among members of elite jury panel.