Public College Dimapur lifts 1st Inter-College Champions Trophy

DIMAPUR, JULY 22 (MExN): Public College Dimapur beat Dimapur Government College to win the 1st Inter-College Champions Trophy today.

In the final at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima on Saturday, Public College Dimapur lifted the trophy by defeating Government College Dimapur by a huge margin of 119 runs. Asked to chase 189 to win the title, the Dimapur Government College mustered only 69/10 in 11.2 overs. 

Saurav Kumar for Public College Dimapur played a brilliant innings as he scored 52 runs in just 33 balls.  As feisty as the Dimapur Government College players were in the field, they cost themselves when they failed to run out and dropped Saurav early in his inning.

Vijay Paswant also contributed 52 runs. Saurav was the only bowler among the seven bowlers the DGC used on the day to give some hard time to the Public College batsman. Chandemo also picked 2 wickets. Despite their shaky batting, the Public College had brought their A game. 

Chasing the target Dimapur Government College lost their opener as early as the first over. Suraj (25 runs) and Saurav (13 runs) built a good partnership to keep them in the hunt. But Man of the Match, Vijay Paswant dashed any hopes for Dimapur Government College taking 5 wickets. He finished with 5/13 in 5 overs. Saurav and Banti took 1 wicket each. 

Man of the Match (Final): Vijay Paswant (Public College Dimapur)
Best Batsman: Alok Sharma (Dimapur Government College)
Best Bowler: Vijay Paswant (Public College Dimapur)
Player of the Tournamnet: Saurav Kumar (Public College Dimapur)