34 teams to vie for 23rd NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy

Inaugural ceremony today

Our Correspondent
Kohima | September 17 

The 23rd NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, 2023 will commence from September 18 to October 14 at Indira Gandhi Stadium Kohima under the theme ‘Goal For Peace’, hosted by Angami Students’ Union (ASU).

The Inaugural Ceremony will take place on September 18 at 4:00 PM. S Keoshu Yimkhiung, Advisor, Youth Resources & Sports, Government of Nagaland will grace the opening ceremony as the inaugural guest.

Solidarity message will be delivered by Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) president Medovi Rhi. Metebo-o Sote, Secretary, Games & Sports, ASU will administer oath to the participating teams. The inaugural ceremony will be chaired by organizing committee Co-Convenor Khriezelhou Vitso.

34 team from within and outside the state will vie for the tournament. The total prize money stands at Rs.7 lakh.

The tournament held in honor of its martyrs’ Late Kekuojalie Sachü and Late Vikhozo Yhoshü, will witness the first match of the edition to be played between the defending champions New Market  FC and 14 FC.

Organizing Committee Convenor Mhasimhalie Mathew Yhome and ASU president Khriesamhalie David Mere informed that as an acknowledgement to football lovers for the unwavering support over the years, the entry to witness the first match will be free.

The Organizing Committee and the Angami Students’ Union has invited all football lovers and well wishers to witness the tournament from the first match till the grand finale.