Five way contest for Pungro-Kiphire seat

Lirimong Sangtam BJP Candidate filing his nomination paper.
Lirimong Sangtam BJP Candidate filing his nomination paper.

Morung Express News
Kiphire | October 16

On the last day of nomination for the bye-election to the 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituency, scheduled to be held on November 3, five candidates today filed their nomination papers for the polls. 

Kiphire will be witnessing a contest between five candidates—1 each from the BJP and the Indian National Congress, along with 3 independent candidates.  

Lirimong Sangtam will be contesting on a BJP ticket and is the consensus candidate of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA). Meanwhile, Khaseo Anar will be contesting on the Congress ticket. 

The three independent candidates include T Yangseo Sangtam, K Shellumthong and Kiusumew Yimchunger . The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) have not fielded any candidates for this seat. 

The seat for the 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituency was left vacant after the demise of NPF MLA, late T Torechu. 

3 file nominations for Southern Angami-I seat
Meanwhile, for the Southern Angami-I bye-election, three candidates filed their nomination papers today. 

Medo Yhokha will contest for the seat on an NDPP ticket, while the opposition NPF has fielded Kikovi Kirha as their candidate. 

Meanwhile, Seyievilie Peter Zashumo will also be contesting for the seat as an independent candidate. 

The Southern Angami-I seat was left vacant after the demise of NDPP MLA and NLA Speaker, late Vikho-o Yhoshü.