Manipur political crisis: 4 NPP MLAs leave for Delhi

Newmai News Network

Imphal | June 23

In a whirlwind development of the Manipur political scenario, the four legislators of National People’s Party (NPP) have left Imphal for Guwahati and Delhi on Tuesday evening by a chartered flight. Sources said that the four NPP legislators would leave Guwahati for Delhi on Wednesday and they are likely to meet either Prime Minister Narendra Modi or Union Home minister Amit Shah on Wednesday.

Interestingly, NPP national president Conrad Sangma who is the chief minister of Meghalaya along with Assam Health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma were in Imphal two days ago to lend their efforts to resolve the political crisis in the State. Sarma is also the convenor of the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA).

Both Himanta Biswa Sarma and Conrad Sangma were in Imphal on Tuesday and left Imphal along with the four NPP legislators for Guwahati. Sources said that they will be reaching New Delhi on Wednesday.

According to sources, Himanta Biswa Sarma and Conrad Sangma held a meeting with the four NPP legislators in Imphal upon their arrival. However, since the issue could not be resolved, they have left for Delhi for further meetings.

Talking to reporters at Imphal Airport on Tuesday, Himanta Biswa Sarma expressed hope that the prevailing issue in Manipur will be resolved soon.

On June 17, the four NPP legislators pulled out from the BJP led coalition government of Manipur. NPP legislature party leader Y Joykumar resigned as deputy chief minister, NPP's L Jayentakumar resigned as Health and Family Welfare minister, NPP's Letpao Haokip resigned as Agriculture minister and N Kayisii resigned as Fisheries minister to support the Opposition Congress party.

On the same day, three BJP legislators-Samuel Jendai of Tamenglong Assembly Constituency, TT Haokip of Henglep Assembly Constituency and Soibam Subhaschandra of Naoriya Pakhanglakpa Assembly constituency-resigned not only from the primary membership of the party but also resigned as MLAs.