Nagaland bye-election: NDPP retains 43-Tapi AC

Kohima, December 3 (MExN): The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) retained the 43-Tapi Assembly Constituency seat as the party candidate Wangpang Konyak won the bye-election. 

According to the result declared on December 3, NDPP’s Wangpang Konyak defeated Indian National Congress candidate Wanglem Konyak by a margin of 5333 votes. Wangpang received 10053 votes, while Wanglem collected 4720.

A total of 45 votes were for NOTA (None of the Above), according to data provided by the Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland. 
The bye-election for the 43-Tapi AC was held on November 7.

Meanwhile, taking to X (formerly Twitter), Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio congratulated Wangpang on his success.
“I wish him the best in serving his constituents and the people of Nagaland. I also congratulate the Party workers and well-wishers,” he added.

In a press release, the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee congratulated and extended gratitude to the electorate of 43 Tapi AC for enthusiastically exercising their electoral mandate during the bye-election. 

It further lauded the winning candidate and wished Wangpang a successful term in the service of his constituents. The NPCC also acknowledged Wanglem for having run a spirited and graceful campaign. “

He may have come up short in the vote count, but he has won the hearts of many,” it maintained. The NPCC also lauded the rank and file of the Congress family in the state, as well as the AICC leaders involved in the campaign, for their unwavering and unstinting effort at upholding the candidature of the Congress party.