Nagaland ULBs polls: 23 more withdraw nomination, total candidates now at 633

Morung Express News
Dimapur/Kohima | June 14 

Following the withdrawal of nominations by 23 more intending candidates, the total number of aspirants for the upcoming June 26 elections to urban local bodies (ULBs) in Nagaland has now reduced to 633.

Updates from the State Election Commission on June 14 informed that the withdrawals were mostly from Eastern Nagaland, where there is a general call for poll abstention led by the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation (ENPO).

Out of the 23 withdrawals, 21 were from the ENPO area: 4 from Aboi Town Council, 8 from Naginimora Town Council, and 8 from Tizit Town Council. There was one withdrawal each from Dimapur Municipal Council and Wokha Town Council.

Consequently, all candidates from Mon district—Aboi, Naginimora, and Tizit—have withdrawn their candidatures from the ULB polls.

However, a total of 27 candidates from Eastern Nagaland—8 in Kiphire and 19 in Shamator—are yet to withdraw their candidatures. 

It must be noted here that despite ENPO’s call for poll abstention in its jurisdiction, 61 candidates filed their nominations from the region initially when the SEC published updates on June 11 at 3 PM, the last day of nomination. At that time, the state’s total stood at 669.

Out of the six districts in Eastern Nagaland, nominations were received from four: Kiphire, Longleng, Mon, and Shamator districts, as highlighted in the update. Tuensang and Noklak districts had no nominations.

Several developments followed. An update from the SEC on June 13 showed the final figure at 656, with all 13 candidates from Longleng Town Council withdrawing their nominations.

With apex and frontal organisations increasing upping their ante following news of nominations in the ENPO area, there is a possibility of further withdrawals from the region.