ZPM, Congress announce Rajya Sabha candidates

AIZAWL, JUNE 5 (NNN): A day after the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) announced its candidate for the upcoming Rajya Sabha election in Mizoram, the opposition parties have also announced the names of their candidates.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on June 10 while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is on June 12 and the election and counting of votes will be held on June 19.

Announcing the name of its candidate, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) said on Friday that the party unanimously agreed to field B Lalchhanzova who is the general secretary of the party.

Regarding the Congress, the party has announced on Friday that it will field P.C. Zoram Sangliana, who is one of the members of the ‘political affairs committee’ of the party, in the upcoming Rajya Sabha poll.

The MNF had announced K Kanlalvena  who is the president of the MNF’s youth wing, as its candidate on Thursday.

In the 40-member assembly of Mizoram, MNF has 27 MLAs, ZPM has 7 MLAs, the Congress with 5 MLAs and BJP with an MLA. Mizoram has one Rajya Sabha seat.