18th Sports Meet of NASA Group ‘D’ commences

NTTU president Kevise Sogotsu being introduced to the players on the inaugural football match of the 18th NASA Group ‘D’ sports meet, on Tuesday.
Dimapur, January 19 (MExN): The 18th Sports Meet of the Northern Angami Sports Association (NASA) Group ‘D’, kicked off on Tuesday at Botsa village ground, with president of Nagaland Timber Traders’ Union, Kevise Sogotsu, as the chief guest and Chiechama Village Council chairman, Kevisilie Rüpreo as guest of honour in the inaugural programme.
The chief guest in his address stressed on the importance of unity and bond-ship among villagers and that this was vital to elect the right leadership to lead the village and people. Citing an example, Kevise said that it was due to wise leadership, unity and wisdom of Tuophema village council and elders that they were able to select Neiphiu Rio to lead them and that the latter, in turn, was leading Nagas as chief minister. He said that in the current complex Naga situation, a visionary leader like Rio was needed to pull and bring Nagas together. Turning to the players, the NTTU president said that games and sports help in inculcating discipline, camaraderie and fitness among players.  Exhorting the players to exhibit their best sporting spirit, Kevise said that in games, winning or losing does not mater in the long run, as ultimately it is the sporting spirit that counts. “Always face both victory and defeat with equal smile and let your sporting spirit reflect in other spheres of activities also. This was, you can earn respect and goodwill,” he added.
On the occasion, the chief guest also donated Rs. 1 lakh towards NASA Group ‘D’ Highlights of the inaugural programme include invocation prayer by Chiechama Basa Baptist Church pastor Khriesaneisa Dzeyie, welcome song by Botsa Students’ Union, address by NASA Group ‘D’ president Neisakholie Rüpreo and a one-minute silence in honour of late Lhousalie Thepa.
The programme was chaired by Keneikesangulie Zumi. Villages under NASA Group ‘D’ are Tuophema, Chiechama, Teichüma, Nachama, Seiyhama, Botsa, Gariphema, Seiyha Phesa, Tsiemekhru Basa and Tsiemekhru Bawe. In the inaugural football match, last year’s group champion Botsa were held to a draw by Teichüma.